Yoko Yamakoshi: Catalogue data in Spring Semester 2019

Name Prof. Dr. Yoko Yamakoshi
Address
Dep. Chemie und Angew. Biowiss.
ETH Zürich, HCI F 323
Vladimir-Prelog-Weg 1-5/10
8093 Zürich
SWITZERLAND
Telephone+41 44 633 64 20
E-mailyamakoshi@org.chem.ethz.ch
DepartmentChemistry and Applied Biosciences
RelationshipAdjunct Professor

NumberTitleECTSHoursLecturers
529-0054-00LPhysical and Analytical Chemistry10 credits15PE. C. Meister, R. Zenobi, M. Badertscher, M.‑O. Ebert, B. Hattendorf, Y. Yamakoshi
AbstractPractical introduction to important experimental methods in physical and analytical chemistry.
ObjectiveThe students have to carry out selected experiments in physical chemistry and evaluate measurement data.
They acquire a good knowledge about the most important practical techniques in analytical chemistry.
Laboratory reports have to be written to each experiment.
ContentPhysical chemistry part:
Short recapitulation of statistics and analysis of measurement data. Writing experimental reports with regard to publication of scientific works. Basic physical chemistry experiments (a maximum of six experiments form the following themes): 1. Phase diagrams (liquid-vapour and solid-liquid phase diagrams, cryoscopy); 2. electrochemistry and electronics; 3. quantum chemistry studies; 4. kinetics; 5. thermochemistry; 6. speed of sound in gases and liquids; 7. surface tension.

Analytical chemistry part:
1. Introduction to the concept of sampling, quantitative elemental analysis and trace analysis, atomic spectroscopic methods, comparative measurements with electrochemical methods; 2. Separation methods, their principles and optimisation: comparison of the different chromatographic methods, effect of the stationary and mobile phases, common errors/artefacts, liquid chromatography, gas chromatography (injection methods). 3. Spectroscopic methods in organic structure determination: recording of IR and UV/VIS spectra, recording technique in NMR

Mandatory exercises in spectroscopy in an accompanying tutorial 529-0289-00 "Instrumentalanalyse organischer Verbindungen" are an integral part of this course.
Lecture notesDescriptions for experiments available online.
LiteratureFür PC-Teil: Erich Meister, Grundpraktikum Physikalische Cheme, 2. Aufl. Vdf UTB, Zürich 2012.
Prerequisites / NoticePrerequisites:
529-0051-00 "Analytische Chemie I (3. Semester)"
529-0058-00 "Analytische Chemie II (4. Semester)" in parallel to the lab class, or completed in an earlier semester. The course 529-0289-00L "Instumentalanalyse organischer Verbindungen" is an obligatory component of the lab class / praktikum.
529-0242-00LSupramolecular Chemistry6 credits3GY. Yamakoshi, B. M. Lewandowski
AbstractPrinciples of molecular recognition: cation/anion complexation and their technological applications; complexation of neutral molecules in aqueous solution; non-covalent interactions involving aromatic rings; hydrogen bonding; molecular sef-assembly - a chemical approach towards nanostructures; thermodynamics and kinetics of complexation processes; synthesis of receptors; template effects.
ObjectiveThe objective of this class is to reach an understanding of the nature and magnitude of the intermolecular interactions and solvation effects that provide the driving force for the association between molecules and/or ions induced by non-covalent bonding interactions. The lecture (2 h) is complemented by a problem solving class (1 h) which focuses on receptor syntheses and other synthetic aspects of supramolecular chemistry.
ContentPrinciples of molecular recognition: cation complexation, anion complexation, cation and anion complexation in technological applications, complexation of neutral molecules in aqueous solution, non-covalent interactions involving aromatic rings, hydrogen bonding, molecular sef-assembly - a chemical approach towards nanostructures, thermodynamics and kinetics of complexation processes, synthesis of receptors, template effects.
Lecture notesPrinted lecture notes will be available for purchase at the beginning of the class. Problem sets and answer keys will be available on-line.
LiteratureNo compulsory textbooks. Literature for further reading will be presented during the class and cited in the lecture notes.
Prerequisites / NoticeCourse prerequisite: classes in organic and physical chemistry of the first two years of studies.
529-0289-00LSpectra Interpretation of Organic Compounds2 credits2GR. Zenobi, M. Badertscher, Y. Yamakoshi
AbstractExercises in interpretation of molecular spectra
ObjectiveMastering the interpretation of molecular spectra.
ContentIn the first part of the lecture, the students work in small groups on solving particular problems in structure elucidation, interpreting mass, 1H-NMR, 13C-NMR, IR, and UV/VIS spectra, optionally in discussion with the lecturers. In the second part the problems are solved by a lecturer.
Lecture notesSpectroscopic problems will be distributed
LiteratureE. Pretsch, P. Bühlmann, M. Badertscher, Structure Determination of Organic Compounds: Tables of Spectral Data, Springer-Verlag, Berlin, 2009, 4th revised and enlarged Engl. ed.

E. Pretsch, G. Tóth, M. E. Munk, M. Badertscher, Computer-Aided Structure Elucidation: Spectra Interpretation and Structure Generation, Wiley-VCH, Weinheim, 2002.
Prerequisites / NoticeThe course is based on the lectures Analytical Chemistry I (529-0051-00) and Analytical Chemistry II (529-0058-00).
Solutions to the problems will be posted on the internet.

Yoko Yamakoshi: Katalogdaten im Frühjahrssemester 2019

NameFrau Prof. Dr. Yoko Yamakoshi
Adresse
Dep. Chemie und Angew. Biowiss.
ETH Zürich, HCI F 323
Vladimir-Prelog-Weg 1-5/10
8093 Zürich
SWITZERLAND
Telefon+41 44 633 64 20
E-Mailyamakoshi@org.chem.ethz.ch
DepartementChemie und Angewandte Biowissenschaften
BeziehungTitularprofessorin

NummerTitelECTSUmfangDozierende
529-0054-00LPhysikalische und Analytische Chemie10 KP15PE. C. Meister, R. Zenobi, M. Badertscher, M.‑O. Ebert, B. Hattendorf, Y. Yamakoshi
KurzbeschreibungPraktische Einfuehrung in wichtige Methoden der physikalischen und analytischen Chemie.
LernzielDurchführung ausgewählter physikalisch-chemischer Experimente und Auswertung von Messdaten.
Kenntnis der wichtigsten analytisch-chemischen Arbeitstechniken in der Praxis.
Abfassen von Versuchsberichten.
InhaltTeil Physikalische Chemie:
Kurze Rekapitulation der Statistik und Auswertung von Messdaten. Abfassen von Versuchsberichten im Hinblick auf das Publizieren von wissenschaftlichen Arbeiten. Grundlegende physikalisch-chemische Versuche (maximal 6 Versuche aus folgenden Themenkreisen): 1. Phasendiagramme (Siede- und Schmelzdiagramme, Kryoskopie); 2. Elektrochemie und Elektronik; 3. Quantenchemische Untersuchungen; 4. Kinetik; 5. Thermochemie; 6. Schallgeschwindigkeit in Gasen und Flüssigkeiten; 7. Oberflächenspannung.

Teil Analytische Chemie:
1. Einführung in die Konzepte der Probennahme, Quantitative Elementanalytik und Spurenanalytik, atomspektroskopische Methoden, Vergleichsmessungen mit elektrochemischen Methoden; 2. Trennmethoden, deren Prinzipien und Optimierung: Vergleich der verschiedenen chromatographischen Methoden, Einfluss der stationären und mobilen Phasen, häufige Fehler/Artefakte, Flüssigchromatographie, Gaschromatographie (Injektionsmethoden). 3. Spektroskopische Methoden in der organischen Strukturaufklärung: Aufnahme von IR- und UV/VIS-Spektren, Aufnahmetechnik NMR.

Integriert in das Praktikum sind obligatorische Spektrenübungen 529-0289-00 "Instrumentalanalyse organischer Verbindungen" als praktikums-begleitendes Seminar.
SkriptVersuchsanleitungen sind auf der Webseite erhältlich.
LiteraturFür PC-Teil: Erich Meister, Grundpraktikum Physikalische Cheme, 2. Aufl. Vdf UTB, Zürich 2012.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesVoraussetzungen:
529-0051-00 "Analytische Chemie I (3. Semester)"
529-0058-00 "Analytische Chemie II (4. Semester)" parallel zum Praktikum oder in einem früheren Semester abgeschlossen. Die Veranstaltung 529-0289-00L "Instumentalanalyse organischer Verbindungen" ist ein integraler Bestandteil dieses Praktikums.
529-0242-00LSupramolecular Chemistry6 KP3GY. Yamakoshi, B. M. Lewandowski
KurzbeschreibungPrinzipien molekularer Erkennung: Komplexierung von Anionen, Kationen und technol. Anwendungen; Kompl. von Neutralmolekülen in wässr. Lösung; nichtkovalente Wechselwirkungen mit aromatischen Ringen; Wasserstoffbrückenbindungen; molekulare Selbstassoziation – ein chemischer Zugang zu Nanostrukturen; Thermodynamik und Kinetik von Komplexierungsprozessen; Synthese von Rezeptoren; Templateffekte.
LernzielZiel der Vorlesung ist das Verständnis von Natur und Stärke der nichtkovalenten zwischenmolekularen Wechselwirkungen sowie von Solvatationseffekten bei der Assoziation von Molekülen und/oder Ionen. Die Vorlesung (2 h) wird durch eine Übungsstunde (1 h) ergänzt, bei der die Synthese von Rezeptoren und andere synthetische Aspekte der Supramolekularen Chemie im Vordergrund stehen.
InhaltPrinzipien molekularer Erkennung: Komplexierung von Kationen und Anionen sowie entspr. technologische Anwendungen, Komplexierung von Neutralmolekülen in wässriger Lösung, nichtkovalente Wechselwirkungen mit aromatischen Ringen, Wasserstoffbrückenbindungen, Selbstassoziation von Molekülen – ein chemischer Zugang zu Nanostrukturen, Thermodynamik und Kinetik von Komplexierungsprozessen; Synthese von Rezeptoren; Templateffekte.
SkriptEin Skript kann zu Beginn der Vorlesung erworben werden. Übungsaufgaben und Lösungen werden über das Internet zur Verfügung gestellt.
LiteraturKeine Pflichtliteratur. Ergänzungsliteratur wird im Rahmen der Vorlesung und im Skript vorgestellt.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesVoraussetzungen: organisch- und physikalisch-chemische Vorlesungen der ersten zwei Studienjahre.
529-0289-00LInstrumentalanalyse organischer Verbindungen2 KP2GR. Zenobi, M. Badertscher, Y. Yamakoshi
KurzbeschreibungÜbungen zur Interpretation von Molekülspektren
LernzielBeherrschung der Praxis der Interpretation von Molekülspektren.
InhaltAnhand von Übungsaufgaben können die Teilnehmenden mit Hilfe der Dozenten und Assistenten den selbständigen Umgang mit den Massen-, 1H-NMR-, 13C-NMR-, IR-, und UV/VIS-Spektren erlernen. Zwei Probleme werden dann jeweils von einem Dozenten besprochen.
SkriptDie Aufgabenstellungen werden abgegeben
LiteraturE. Pretsch, P. Bühlmann, M. Badertscher, Spektroskopische Daten zur Strukturaufklärung organischer verbindungen, 5. Auflage, Springer, Berlin/Heidelberg, 2010.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesDie Lösungen sind in der darauffolgenden Woche auf dem Internet verfügbar
Voraussetzung:
529-0051-00 "Analytische Chemie I (3. Semester)"
529-0058-00 "Analytische Chemie II (4. Semester)" parallel zu diesem Kurs oder in einem früheren Semester abgeschlossen