Christoph Johannes Baumberger: Catalogue data in Autumn Semester 2018

Name Dr. Christoph Johannes Baumberger
Address
Institut für Umweltentscheidungen
ETH Zürich, CHN H 73.1
Universitätstrasse 16
8092 Zürich
SWITZERLAND
Telephone+41 44 632 50 54
E-mailchristoph.baumberger@usys.ethz.ch
DepartmentEnvironmental Systems Science
RelationshipLecturer

NumberTitleECTSHoursLecturers
701-0707-00LAnalysing Arguments in Science and Ethics Information Restricted registration - show details
Number of Participants is limited to 160

This lecture was offered until spring semester 17 under the title: "Analysing Texts". Students who completed this lecture already are not allowed to earn credits for this lecture again.
2 credits2GC. J. Baumberger
AbstractProblems of the environment and sustainable development are complex from a scientific as well as from an ethical point of view. Addressing them requires the ability to deal with arguments. This course provides basic knowledge and methods for reconstructing, analysing and evaluating arguments. We exercise and improve these abilities by using examples from science, ethics and political debates.
ObjectiveStudents acquire basic knowledge and methods for analyzing arguments. They are able to apply these methods to complex arguments concerning scientific and ethical questions about the environment and sustainable development, and to construct themselves arguments and apply them successfully. Moreover, they are able to evaluate the contribution of arguments to controversial debates with the help of rules. Students acquire thereby a crucial skill for Critical Thinking, which aims at responsible argumentation, communication and action.
ContentIn the sciences as well as in public discussions or in our everyday life, we try to convince others or to achieve consent in matters of disagreement. We do this with the help of arguments. But what are the criteria for arguments to be convincing and for claims to be clear? And how do we expediently feed arguments into a debate? How can we identify and avoid fallacies in reasoning? How do we analyse and define concepts? This course provides basic knowledge of conceptual analysis and argumentation theory as well as methods for identifying, reconstructing and evaluating claims and arguments. Its focus is on systematically addressing the following two questions: What do you mean? How do you know? The first question aims at a better understanding of the claim in question, the second at assessing the reasons that support or undermine the claim. We exercise and improve the abilities to address these questions by using texts on scientific and ethical questions concerning the environment and sustainable development. The course provides thus crucial skills for Critical Thinking, which aims at responsible argumentation, communication and action.
Lecture notesA textbook will be used, and handouts will be available.
LiteratureBrun, Georg; Gertrude Hirsch Hadorn. 2014. Textanalyse in den Wissenschaften. Inhalte und Argumente analysieren und verstehen. Zürich: vdf/UTB 3139 (2nd edition)
Bowell, Tracy; Kemp, Gary. 2014. Critical Thinking. A Concise Guide. New York. Routledge. (4th Edition)
Eemeren, Frans van; Grootendorst, Rob; Henkemans, Francisca Snoeck. 2010. Argumentation. Analysis, Evaluation, Presentation. New York: Routledge.
Pfister, Jonas. 2013. Werkzeuge des Philosophierens. Stuttgart: Reclam.
Sinnott-Armstrong, Walter; Fogelin; Robert. 2015. Understanding Arguments. An Introduction to Informal Logic. Concise. Stanford: Cenage Learning. (9th Edition)
Prerequisites / NoticeThis is a compulsory course in the social sciences and humanities in the second year of the BA Environmental sciences. For 2 ECTS-credits, all written tasks that are distributed during the course need to be solved.

Christoph Johannes Baumberger: Katalogdaten im Herbstsemester 2018

NameHerr Dr. Christoph Johannes Baumberger
Adresse
Institut für Umweltentscheidungen
ETH Zürich, CHN H 73.1
Universitätstrasse 16
8092 Zürich
SWITZERLAND
Telefon+41 44 632 50 54
E-Mailchristoph.baumberger@usys.ethz.ch
DepartementUmweltsystemwissenschaften
BeziehungDozent

NummerTitelECTSUmfangDozierende
701-0707-00LMethoden des Argumentierens in Wissenschaft und Ethik Information Belegung eingeschränkt - Details anzeigen
Maximale Teilnehmerzahl: 160

Diese Lerneinheit wurde bis FS17 unter den Titel "Methoden der Textanalyse" angeboten. Studierende, die dieses Fach bereits abgeschlossen haben, können das Fach im HS nicht nochmals anrechnen lassen.
2 KP2GC. J. Baumberger
KurzbeschreibungProbleme der Umwelt und der nachhaltigen Entwicklung sind aus wissenschaftlicher und aus ethischer Sicht komplex. Sie erfordern entsprechende Kenntnisse im Argumentieren. Die Lehrveranstaltung behandelt Grundlagenwissen und Methoden für die Rekonstruktion, Analyse und Beurteilung von Argumentationen. Diese Fähigkeiten werden an Beispielen aus Wissenschaft, Ethik und politischen Debatten geübt.
LernzielDie Studierenden verfügen über Grundlagenwissen und Methoden der Argumentationsanalyse. Sie können diese Methoden auf komplexe Argumente im Zusammenhang mit wissenschaftlichen und ethischen Fragen zur Umwelt und zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung anwenden sowie selbst Argumente entwickeln und zieleführend einsetzen. Zudem sind sie in der Lage, den Beitrag von Argumenten in kontroversen Debatten anhand von Regeln zu beurteilen und so auf eine konstruktive Auseinandersetzung hinzuwirken. Sie erwerben damit eine grundlegende Fähigkeit für Critical Thinking, das auf verantwortungsbewusstes Argumentieren, Kommunizieren und Handeln abzielt.
InhaltInnerhalb der Wissenschaft ebenso wie im Kontakt mit der Öffentlichkeit und im praktischen Leben versuchen wir, in strittigen Angelegenheiten mit Argumenten zu überzeugen und Zustimmung zu erzielen. Aber wann sind Aussagen klar und Argumente überzeugend? Wie werden Argumente in Debatten zielführend eingesetzt? Wann liegen Argumentationsfehler vor? Die Lehrveranstaltung behandelt Grundlagenwissen der Begriffsanalyse und der Argumentationstheorie sowie Methoden für die Identifizierung, Rekonstruktion und Beurteilung von Behauptungen und Argumentationen. Im Zentrum steht die systematische Beantwortung der folgenden beiden Fragen: Was wird behauptet? Wie wird die Behauptung begründet? Die erste Frage zielt auf ein besseres Verständnis der Behauptung, die zweite auf eine Einschätzung der Gründe, welche die Behauptung stützen oder unterminieren. Die Methoden zur Beantwortung dieser Fragen werden an Textbeispielen zu wissenschaftlichen und ethischen Fragen zur Umwelt und zur nachhaltigen Entwicklung geübt. Der Kurs vermittelt damit grundlegende Fähigkeiten für Critical Thinking, das auf verantwortungsbewusstes Argumentieren, Kommunizieren und Handeln abzielt.
SkriptWir arbeiten mit einem Lehrbuch und Handouts der Präsentationen.
LiteraturBrun, Georg; Gertrude Hirsch Hadorn. 2014. Textanalyse in den Wissenschaften. Inhalte und Argumente analysieren und verstehen. Zürich: vdf/UTB 3139 (2. Auflage)
Bowell, Tracy; Kemp, Gary. 2014. Critical Thinking. A Concise Guide. New York. Routledge. (4. Auflage)
Eemeren, Frans van; Grootendorst, Rob; Henkemans, Francisca Snoeck. 2010. Argumentation. Analysis, Evaluation, Presentation. New York: Routledge.
Pfister, Jonas. 2013. Werkzeuge des Philosophierens. Stuttgart: Reclam.
Sinnott-Armstrong, Walter; Fogelin; Robert. 2015. Understanding Arguments. An Introduction to Informal Logic. Concise. Stanford: Cenage Learning. (9. Auflage)
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesDie Lehrveranstaltung ist Teil der Pflichtfächer in Sozial- und Geisteswissenschaften im zweiten Studienjahr des Bachelor UMNW. Für 2 ECTS-credits müssen alle schriftlichen Hausaufgaben gelöst werden, welche die Vorlesung begleiten und im Verlauf des Semesters ausgegeben werden.