Autumn Semester 2020 takes place in a mixed form of online and classroom teaching.
Please read the published information on the individual courses carefully.

Marco Stampanoni: Catalogue data in Autumn Semester 2016

Name Prof. Dr. Marco Stampanoni
FieldX-ray Imaging
Address
Inst. f. Biomedizinische Technik
ETH Zürich, ETZ F 85
Gloriastrasse 35
8092 Zürich
SWITZERLAND
Telephone+41 44 632 86 50
E-mailstampanoni@biomed.ee.ethz.ch
DepartmentInformation Technology and Electrical Engineering
RelationshipFull Professor

NumberTitleECTSHoursLecturers
227-0965-00LMicro and Nano-Tomography of Biological Tissues4 credits3GM. Stampanoni, P. A. Kaestner
AbstractThe lecture introduces the physical and technical know-how of X-ray tomographic microscopy. Several X-ray imaging techniques (absorption-, phase- and darkfield contrast) will be discussed and their use in daily research, in particular biology, is presented. The course discusses the aspects of quantitative evaluation of tomographic data sets like segmentation, morphometry and statistics.
ObjectiveIntroduction to the basic concepts of X-ray tomographic imaging, image analysis and data quantification at the micro and nano scale with particular emphasis on biological applications
ContentSynchrotron-based X-ray micro- and nano-tomography is today a powerful technique for non-destructive, high-resolution investigations of a broad range of materials. The high-brilliance and high-coherence of third generation synchrotron radiation facilities allow quantitative, three-dimensional imaging at the micro and nanometer scale and extend the traditional absorption imaging technique to edge-enhanced and phase-sensitive measurements, which are particularly suited for investigating biological samples.

The lecture includes a general introduction to the principles of tomographic imaging from image formation to image reconstruction. It provides the physical and engineering basics to understand how imaging beamlines at synchrotron facilities work, looks into the recently developed phase contrast methods, and explores the first applications of X-ray nano-tomographic experiments.

The course finally provides the necessary background to understand the quantitative evaluation of tomographic data, from basic image analysis to complex morphometrical computations and 3D visualization, keeping the focus on biomedical applications.
Lecture notesAvailable online
LiteratureWill be indicated during the lecture.
227-0970-00LResearch Topics in Biomedical Engineering Information 0 credits2KM. Rudin, S. Kozerke, K. P. Prüssmann, M. Stampanoni, K. Stephan, J. Vörös
AbstractCurrent topics in Biomedical Engineering presented by speakers from academia and industry.
ObjectiveGetting insight into actual areas and problems of Biomedical Engineering an Health Care.

Das Herbstsemester 2020 findet in einer gemischten Form aus Online- und Präsenzunterricht statt.
Bitte lesen Sie die publizierten Informationen zu den einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen genau.

Marco Stampanoni: Katalogdaten im Herbstsemester 2016

NameHerr Prof. Dr. Marco Stampanoni
LehrgebietRöntgenbildgebung
Adresse
Inst. f. Biomedizinische Technik
ETH Zürich, ETZ F 85
Gloriastrasse 35
8092 Zürich
SWITZERLAND
Telefon+41 44 632 86 50
E-Mailstampanoni@biomed.ee.ethz.ch
DepartementInformationstechnologie und Elektrotechnik
BeziehungOrdentlicher Professor

NummerTitelECTSUmfangDozierende
227-0965-00LMicro and Nano-Tomography of Biological Tissues4 KP3GM. Stampanoni, P. A. Kaestner
KurzbeschreibungEinführung in die physikalischen und technischen Grundkenntnisse der tomographischen Röntgenmikroskopie. Verschiedene Röntgenbasierten-Abbildungsmechanismen (Absorptions-, Phasen- und Dunkelfeld-Kontrast) werden erklärt und deren Einsatz in der aktuellen Forschung vorgestellt, insbesondere in der Biologie. Die quantitative Auswertung tomographische Datensätzen wird ausführlich beigebracht.
LernzielEinführung in die Grundlagen der Röntgentomographie auf der Mikrometer- und Nanometerskala, sowie in die entsprechenden Bildbearbeitungs- und Quantifizierungsmethoden, unter besonderer Berücksichtigung von biologischen Anwendungen.
InhaltSynchrotron basierte Röntgenmikro- und Nanotomographie ist heutzutage eine leistungsfähige Technik für die hochaufgelösten zerstörungsfreien Untersuchungen einer Vielfalt von Materialien. Die aussergewöhnlichen Stärke und Kohärenz der Strahlung einer Synchrotronquelle der dritten Generation erlauben quantitative drei-dimensionale Aufnahmen auf der Mikro- und Nanometerskala und erweitern die klassischen Absorption-basierten Verfahrensweisen auf die kontrastreicheren kantenverstärkten und phasenempfindlichen Methoden, die für die Analyse von biologischen Proben besonders geeignet sind.

Die Vorlesung umfasst eine allgemeine Einführung in die Grundsätze der Röntgentomographie, von der Bildentstehung bis zur 3D Bildrekonstruktion. Sie liefert die physikalischen und technischen Grundkentnisse über die bildgebenden Synchrotronstrahllinien, vertieft die neusten Phasenkontrastmethoden und beschreibt die ersten Anwendungen nanotomographischer Röntgenuntersuchungen.

Schliesslich liefert der Kurs den notwendigen Hintergrund, um die quantitative Auswertung tomographischer Daten zu verstehen, von der grundlegenden Bildanalyse bis zur komplexen morphometrischen Berechnung und zur 3D-Visualisierung, unter besonderer Berücksichtigung von biomedizinischen Anwendungen.
SkriptOnline verfügbar
LiteraturWird in der Vorlesung angegeben.
227-0970-00LResearch Topics in Biomedical Engineering Information 0 KP2KM. Rudin, S. Kozerke, K. P. Prüssmann, M. Stampanoni, K. Stephan, J. Vörös
KurzbeschreibungCurrent topics in Biomedical Engineering presented by speakers from academia and industry.
LernzielGetting insight into actual areas and problems of Biomedical Engineering an Health Care.