Autumn Semester 2020 takes place in a mixed form of online and classroom teaching.
Please read the published information on the individual courses carefully.

227-0014-00L  Computer Engineering II

SemesterSpring Semester 2016
LecturersR. Wattenhofer
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionGerman


AbstractWe learn the important functions of operating systems. Networking: IP, routing, transport, flows, applications, sockets, link and physical layer, Markov chains, PageRank, security. Storage: memory hierarchy, file systems, caching, hashing, data bases. Computation: virtualization, processes, threads, concurrency, scheduling, locking, synchronization, mutual exclusion, deadlocks, consistency.
Objectivesee above
ContentComputers come in all shapes and sizes: servers, laptops, tablets, smartphones, smartwatches, all the way down to that tiny microcontroller in a washing machine. People buy a computer because (i) it gives them access to the Internet, (ii) it provides storage, and probably also because (iii) it computes. While having network access seems to be vital, advanced storage and computing capabilities more and more move to designated servers ("the cloud"). In this lecture, we learn how computers provide networking, storage, and computation by means of an operating system.

We start out with networking, and discuss the internet protocol, addressing, routing, transport layer protocols, flows, some representative application layer protocols, and how to implement these with sockets. We also discuss the link and physical layer, Markov chains and PageRank, and selected topics in security. Regarding storage, we talk about the memory hierarchy, file systems, caching, efficient data structures such as hashing, and data base principles. Concerning computation, we discuss the virtualization of the processing units with processes and threads. We focus on concurrency and examine scheduling, locking, synchronization, mutual exclusion, deadlocks, and consistency.

The lecture will use various teaching paradigms. The majority of the lecture will be based on blackboard discussions, supported by a script. Where appropriate we will also use slides or demonstrations. A few lectures will be flipped classroom style. The lecture will feature weekly paper exercises.

However, some of the course material is best learned in front of an actual computer. In addition to the lecture we offer exciting hands-on exercises in a lab environment.
Lecture notesAvailable

Das Herbstsemester 2020 findet in einer gemischten Form aus Online- und Präsenzunterricht statt.
Bitte lesen Sie die publizierten Informationen zu den einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen genau.

227-0014-00L  Technische Informatik II

SemesterFrühjahrssemester 2016
DozierendeR. Wattenhofer
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheDeutsch


KurzbeschreibungWir behandeln die wichtigsten Komponenten von Betriebssystemen. Netzwerke: IP, Routing, Transport, Flüsse, Anwendungen, Sockets, Link/Physical, Markov-Ketten, PageRank, Sicherheit. Speicher: Hierarchie, Dateisysteme, Caching, Hashing, Datenbanken. Rechnen: Virtualisierung, Prozesse, Threads, Concurrency, Scheduling, Locking, Synchronisation, gegenseitigen Ausschluss, Deadlocks, Konsistenz.
Lernzielsiehe oben
InhaltComputer gibt es in verschiedenen Grössen: Von Servern über Laptops, Tablets, Smartphones, Smartwatches, bis hin zu winzigen Microcontrollern in einer Waschmaschine. Menschen kaufen vor allem aus drei Gründen einen Computer: (i) Internetzugang, (ii) Datenspeicherung, und (iii) Berechnungen. Während der Internetzugang nicht zu ersetzen ist, werden Speicher- und Rechenmöglichkeiten immer mehr auf dedizierte Server (die "Cloud") ausgelagert. In dieser Vorlesung besprechen wir wie Computer Netzwerkzugang, Speicher und Berechnungen mittels eines Betriebssystems ermöglichen.

Wir beginnen mit Netzwerken und besprechen das Internet-Protokoll, Adressierung, Routing, die Transportschicht, Flüsse, einige repräsentative Protokolle der Anwendungsschicht, und wie man diese mit Sockets implementiert. Ausserdem diskutieren wir die tieferen Schichten, Markov-Ketten und PageRank, sowie ausgewählte Themen der Sicherheit. Bezüglich Speicher sprechen wir über die Speicherhierarchie, Dateisysteme, Caching, effiziente Datenstrukturen wie Hashing und Datenbanken. Beim Rechnen behandeln wir die Virtualisierung der Prozessoren mit Prozessen und Threads. Wir konzentrieren uns auf Concurrency und untersuchen Scheduling, Locking, Synchronisation, gegenseitigen Ausschluss, Deadlocks und Konsistenz.

Die Vorlesung wird verschiedene Lehrparadigmen benutzen. Hauptsächlich diskutieren wir an der Tafel, unterstützt durch ein Skript. Gegebenenfalls verwenden wir auch Slides oder machen Demos. Einige wenige Vorlesungsstunden werden als "Flipped Classroom" durchgeführt. Es werden jede Woche schriftliche Übungen angeboten.

Man lernt Teile der Vorlesung am besten vor einem tatsächlichen Computer. Zusätzlich zur Vorlesung bieten wir deshalb spannende praktische Übungen als Fachpraktikum an.
SkriptVorhanden, in Englischer Sprache