Autumn Semester 2020 takes place in a mixed form of online and classroom teaching.
Please read the published information on the individual courses carefully.

701-0501-00L  Pedosphere

SemesterAutumn Semester 2016
LecturersR. Kretzschmar
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionGerman


AbstractIntroduction to the formation and properties of soils as a function of parent rock, landscape position, climate, and soil organisms. Complex relationships between soil forming processes, physical and chemical soil properties, soil biota, and ecological soil properties are explained and illustrated by numerous examples.
ObjectiveIntroduction to the formation and properties of soils as a function of parent rock, landscape position, climate, and soil organisms. Complex relationships between soil forming processes, physical and chemical soil properties, soil biota, and ecological soil properties are explained and illustrated by numerous examples.
ContentDefinition of the pedosphere, soil functions, rocks as parent materials, minerals and weathering, soil organisms, soil organic matter, physical soil properties and functions, chemical soil properties and functions, soil formation, principles of soil classification, global soil regions, soil fertility, land use and soil degradation.
Lecture notesLecture notes can be purchased during the first lecture (15.- SFr)
Literature- Scheffer/Schachtschabel - Soil Science, Springer, Heidelberg, 2016.

- Brady N.C. and Weil, R.R. The Nature and Properties of Soils. 14th ed. Prentice Hall, 2007.
Prerequisites / NoticePrerequisites: Basic knowledge in chemistry, biology and geology.

Das Herbstsemester 2020 findet in einer gemischten Form aus Online- und Präsenzunterricht statt.
Bitte lesen Sie die publizierten Informationen zu den einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen genau.

701-0501-00L  Pedosphäre

SemesterHerbstsemester 2016
DozierendeR. Kretzschmar
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheDeutsch


KurzbeschreibungEinführung in die Entstehung und Eigenschaften von Böden in Abhängigkeit von Ausgangsgestein, Relief, Klima und Bodenorganismen. Komplexe Zusammenhänge zwischen den bodenbildenden Prozessen, den physikalischen und chemischen Bodeneigenschaften, Bodenorganismen, und ökologischen Standortseigenschaften von Böden werden erläutert und an Hand von zahlreichen Beispielen illustriert.
LernzielEinführung in die Entstehung und Eigenschaften von Böden in Abhängigkeit von Ausgangsgestein, Relief, Klima und Bodenorganismen. Komplexe Zusammenhänge zwischen den bodenbildenden Prozessen, den physikalischen und chemischen Bodeneigenschaften, Bodenorganismen, und ökologischen Standortseigenschaften von Böden werden erläutert und an Hand von zahlreichen Beispielen illustriert.
InhaltDefinition der Pedosphäre, Bodenfunktionen, Gesteine, Minerale und Verwitterung, Bodenorganismen, organische Bodensubstanz, physikalische Eigenschaften und Funktionen, chemische Eigenschaften und Funktionen, Bodenbildung und Bodenverbreitung, Grundzüge der Bodenklassifikation, Bodenzonen der Erde, Bodenfruchtbarkeit, Bodennutzung und Bodengefährdung.
SkriptSkript wird während der ersten Vorlesung verkauft (15.- SFr).
Literatur- Scheffer F. Scheffer/Schachtschabel - Lehrbuch der Bodenkunde, 16. Auflage, Spektrum Akademischer Verlag, Heidelberg, 2010.

- Brady N.C. and Weil, R.R. The Nature and Properties of Soils. 14th ed. Prentice Hall, 2007.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesVoraussetzungen: Grundlagen in Chemie, Biologie und Geologie.