Autumn Semester 2020 takes place in a mixed form of online and classroom teaching.
Please read the published information on the individual courses carefully.

151-0840-00L  Principles of FEM-Based Optimization and Robustness Analysis

SemesterSpring Semester 2019
LecturersB. Berisha, P. Hora, N. Manopulo
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionEnglish


AbstractThe course provides fundamentals of stochastic simulation and non-linear optimization methods. Methods of non-linear optimizaion for complex mechanical systems will be introduced und applied on real processes. Typical applications of stochastical methods for the prediction of process stability and robustness analysis will be discussed.
ObjectiveReal systems are, in general, of non-linear nature. Moreover, they are submitted to process parameter variations. In spite of this, most research is performed assuming deterministic boundary conditions, in which all parameters are constant. As a consequence, such research cannot draw conclusions on real system behavior, but only on behavior under singular conditions. Hence, the objective of this course is to give an insight into stochastic simulations and non-linear optimization methods.

Students will learn mathematical methods e.g. gradient based and gradient free methods like genetic algorithm, and optimization tools (Matlab Optimization Toolbox) to solve basic optimization and stochastic problems.

Furthermore, special attention will be paid to the modeling of engineering problems using a commercial finite element program e.g. LS-Dyna to evaluate the mechanical response of a system, and an optimization tool e.g. LS-Opt for the mathematical optimization and robustness analysis.
ContentPrinciples of nonlinear optimization

- Introduction into nonlinear optimization and stochastic process simulation
- Principles of nonlinear optimization
- Introduction into the design optimization and probabilistic tool LS-Opt
- Design of Experiments DoE
- Introduction into nonlinear finite element methods

Optimization of nonlinear systems

- Application: Optimization of simple structures using LS-Opt and LS-Dyna
- Optimization based on meta modeling techniques
- Introduction into structure optimization
- Introduction into geometry parameterization for shape and topology optimization

Robustness and sensitivity of multiparameter systems

- Introduction into stochastics and robustness of processes
- Sensitivity analysis
- Application examples
Lecture notesyes

Ab 2. November 2020 findet das Herbstsemester 2020 online statt. Ausnahmen: Veranstaltungen, die nur mit Präsenz vor Ort durchführbar sind.
Bitte beachten Sie die per E-Mail kommunizierten Informationen der Dozierenden.

151-0840-00L  Principles of FEM-Based Optimization and Robustness Analysis

SemesterFrühjahrssemester 2019
DozierendeB. Berisha, P. Hora, N. Manopulo
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheEnglisch


KurzbeschreibungDie Vorlesung vermittelt Grundlagen im Bereich stochastischer Simulationen und nichtlinearer Optimierungsmethoden. Zuerst werden die Methoden der nichtlinearen Optimierung für komplexe mechanische Systeme hergleitet und anschliessend auf reale Prozesse angewendet. Typische Anwendungen von stochastischen Methoden zur Vorhersage von Prozessstabilität und Robustheitsbewertungen werden behandelt.
LernzielIm Allgemeinen sind reale Systeme nichtlinear. Desweiteren unterliegen reale Prozesse Prozessschwankungen. Trotzdem werden gewöhnlich bei der Simulation zufallsunabhängige Randbedingungen mit konstanten Parametern angenommen. Demzufolge können mit diesen Ergebnissen keine Rückschlüsse auf das reale Systemverhalten gezogen werdnen. Das Ziel dieser Vorlesung ist es, einen Einblick in die Methoden der stochastischen Simulation und der nichtlinearen Optimierung zu geben.

Der Student lernt mathematische Methoden wie bspw. gradientenbasierte und gradientenfreie Methoden (Genetische Algorithmen) kennen. Er lernt den Umgang mit Optimierungsprogrammen (Matlab Optimization Toolbox) und löst damit grundlegende Probleme im Bereich Optimierung und Stochastik.

Desweiteren wird besonders auf die Optimierung und Robustheitsuntersuchungen von Ingenieursproblemen, unter Anwendung von kommerzieller Finite Elemente Software wie LS-Dyna und Optimierungssoftware wie LS-Opt, eingegangen.
InhaltGrundlagen der nichtlinearen Optimierung

- Einführung in die Problematik der nichtlinearen Optimierung und der stochastischen Prozesssimulation
- Grundlagen der nichtlinearen Optimierung
- Einführung in LS-Opt
- Design of Experiments DoE
- Einführung in die nichtlineare FEM

Optimierung nichtlinearer Systeme

- Anwendungsfall: Optimierung einfacher Tragwerke (LS-Dyna, LS-Opt)
- Optimierung mittels Metamodellen
- Einführung in die Strukturoptimierung
- Einführung in die Geometriparametrisierung zur Formoptimierung

Robustheit und Sensitivität mehrparametriger Systeme

- Einführung in die Stochastik und Robustheit von Prozessen
- Sensitivitätsanalysen
- Anwendungsbeispiele
Skriptja