751-0801-00L  Biology I: Laboratory Exercises

SemesterAutumn Semester 2016
LecturersE. B. Truernit
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionGerman


AbstractPrinciples and methods of light microscopy. Preparation of specimen for microscopy; documentation. Anatomy of seed plants: From cells to organs. Special features of plant cells. Anatomy and function of plant organs. Anatomical adaptations to different environments.
ObjectiveCapability of preparing biological specimen, microscopy and documentation. Understanding the correlation between plant structure and function at the level of organs, tissues and cells.
Awareness of the link between plant anatomy, systematics, physiology, ecology, and development.
ContentBasics of optics. Principles of light microscopy. Microscope parts and their function. Köhler illumination. Optical contrasting methods. Measuring object sizes with the microscope. Preparation of specimen for light microscopy. Plant tissue staining techniques.
Special features of plant cells: Plastids, vacuole, cell wall. Anatomy of seed plants: From cells to organs. Anatomy and function of various plant tissues (epidermis, vascular tissue, wood, etc.). Anatomy and function of different plant organs (root, stem, leaf, flower, fruit, seed). Anatomical adaptations to different environments.
Lecture notesHandouts
LiteratureFor further reading (not obligatory):
Gerhard Wanner: Mikroskopisch-Botanisches Praktikum, Georg Thieme Verlag, Stuttgart.
Prerequisites / NoticeGroups of a maximum of 30 students.

Ab 2. November 2020 findet das Herbstsemester 2020 online statt. Ausnahmen: Veranstaltungen, die nur mit Präsenz vor Ort durchführbar sind.
Bitte beachten Sie die per E-Mail kommunizierten Informationen der Dozierenden.

751-0801-00L  Biologie I: Uebungen (in G)

SemesterHerbstsemester 2016
DozierendeE. B. Truernit
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheDeutsch


KurzbeschreibungGrundlagen und Methoden der Lichtmikroskopie. Herstellung von Präparaten, mikroskopieren und dokumentieren. Bau der Samenpflanzen: Von der Zelle zum Organ. Besonderheiten der Pflanzenzelle. Bau und Funktion von Pflanzenorganen. Anatomische Anpassungen an verschiedene Standorte.
LernzielFertigkeit im Präparieren, Mikroskopieren und Dokumentieren pflanzlicher Objekte. Verstehen der Zusammenhänge zwischen Struktur und Funktion auf der Ebene der Organe, Gewebe und Zellen. Erkennen der Zusammenhänge zwischen Anatomie, Systematik, Physiologie, Ökologie und Entwicklungsbiologie.
InhaltGrundlagen der Optik. Prinzip des Lichtmikroskops. Die Teile des Lichtmikroskops und ihre Funktionen. Köhlersches Beleuchtungsprinzip. Optische Kontrastierverfahren. Messen im Mikroskop. Herstellen von mikroskopischen Präparaten. Färbemethoden.
Besonderheiten der Pflanzenzelle: Plastiden, Vakuole, Zellwand. Bau der Samenpflanzen: Von der Zelle zum Organ. Bau und Funktion verschiedener Pflanzengewebe (Epidermis, Leitgewebe, Holz, etc.). Bau und Funktion verschiedener Pflanzenorgane (Wurzel, Stängel, Blatt, Blüte, Frucht, Samen). Anatomische Anpassung an verschiedene Standorte.
SkriptHandouts
LiteraturAls Ergänzung (muss nicht angeschafft werden):
Gerhard Wanner: Mikroskopisch-Botanisches Praktikum, Georg Thieme Verlag, Stuttgart.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesGruppen von maximal 30 Studierenden.