701-0023-AAL  Atmosphere

SemesterAutumn Semester 2016
LecturersH. Wernli, T. Peter
Periodicityevery semester recurring course
Language of instructionEnglish
CommentEnrolment ONLY for MSc students with a decree declaring this course unit as an additional admission requirement.

Any other students (e.g. incoming exchange students, doctoral students) CANNOT enrol for this course unit.


AbstractBasic principles of the atmosphere, physical structure and chemical composition, trace gases, atmospheric cycles, circulation, stability, radiation, condensation, clouds, oxidation capacity and ozone layer.
ObjectiveUnderstanding of basic physical and chemical processes in the atmosphere. Understanding of mechanisms of and interactions between: weather - climate, atmosphere - ocean - continents, troposhere - stratosphere. Understanding of environmentally relevant structures and processes on vastly differing scales. Basis for the modelling of complex interrelations in the atmospehre.
ContentBasic principles of the atmosphere, physical structure and chemical composition, trace gases, atmospheric cycles, circulation, stability, radiation, condensation, clouds, oxidation capacity and ozone layer.
Lecture notesWritten information will be supplied.
Literature- John H. Seinfeld and Spyros N. Pandis, Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics: From Air Pollution to Climate Change, Wiley, New York, 1998.
- Gösta H. Liljequist, Allgemeine Meteorologie, Vieweg, Braunschweig, 1974.

701-0023-AAL  Atmosphere

SemesterHerbstsemester 2016
DozierendeH. Wernli, T. Peter
Periodizitätjedes Semester wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheEnglisch
KommentarBelegung ist NUR erlaubt für MSc Studierende, die diese Lerneinheit als Auflagenfach verfügt haben.

Alle andere Studierenden (u.a. auch Mobilitätsstudierende, Doktorierende) können diese Lerneinheit NICHT belegen.


KurzbeschreibungGrundlagen der Atmosphäre, physikalischer Aufbau und chemische Zusammensetzung, Spurengase, Kreisläufe in der Atmosphäre, Zirkulation, Stabilität, Strahlung, Kondensation, Wolken, Oxidationspotential und Ozonschicht.
LernzielVerständnis grundlegender physikalischer und chemischer Prozesse in der Atmosphäre. Kenntnis über die Mechanismen und Zusammenhänge von: Wetter - Klima, Atmosphäre - Ozeane - Kontinente, Troposphäre - Stratosphäre. Verständnis von umweltrelevanten Strukturen und Vorgängen in sehr unterschiedlichem Massstab. Grundlagen für eine modellmässige Darstellung komplexer Zusammenhänge in der Atmosphäre.
InhaltGrundlagen der Atmosphäre, physikalischer Aufbau und chemische Zusammensetzung, Spurengase, Kreisläufe in der Atmosphäre, Zirkulation, Stabilität, Strahlung, Kondensation, Wolken, Oxidationspotential und Ozonschicht.
SkriptSchriftliche Unterlagen werden abgegeben.
Literatur- John H. Seinfeld and Spyros N. Pandis, Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics: From Air Pollution to Climate Change, Wiley, New York, 1998.
- Gösta H. Liljequist, Allgemeine Meteorologie, Vieweg, Braunschweig, 1974.