Autumn Semester 2020 takes place in a mixed form of online and classroom teaching.
Please read the published information on the individual courses carefully.

063-0366-00L  The Architecture of the City from Modernity to Today

SemesterAutumn Semester 2016
LecturersV. Magnago Lampugnani
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionGerman


AbstractThe lecture covers the time of the 20th century and describes with theories, projects and implemented plannings the history of the modern city. The lectures emphasizes on the historical plannings and methods and presents each specific urban development within a broader context.
ObjectiveThis course analyzes the history of urban architecture primarily in its existing three dimensional form as a complex human artefact. It also explores the inspirations that prompted the creation of this artefact: philosophical and religious concepts, social conditions, property relationships and the mechanisms that exploit the economics of real estate and the influence of building technology. Intellectual, literary or artistic modes of thought will also be assessed with regard to their impact on urban development. Urbanism has its own distinctive approach as a discipline, but it is also clearly responsive to the influence of related disciplines. Study is made of actual cities and urban expansion plans which are in the process of implementation, as well as unrealized projects and visions of the future. These projects sometimes illustrate ways of thinking that are equal to, or clearer than, actual urban situations.
ContentThe lecture which will be hold only in one semester includes the developments of the 20th century

1. Le Corbusier: theories, visions and clearcuts in the name oft he autorité

2. The United States in the Jazz Age: Between Metropolis of Tomorrow and Broadacre City

3. Italy in the Fascist Era: Monumental ensembles and new town between assiduousness of modernization and obsession of representation

4. Urban design under totalitarian regimes: The architects of the "Tausendjährige Reich" and the "engineers of luck" of the Soviet Union of Stalin

5. Coming to terms with the past and the Cold War: Reconstruction in the two German states

6. The myth of the human scale: the 1950s in Spain, Great Britain, Scandinavia and Italy

7. Postwar Experiments: Rationalistic classicism in France

8. Two new towns in the 20th century: Chandigarh and Brasilia

9. Fictions and visions: The international utopia of the city

10. The second conquest of the North American territorium: The automobile and the city in the USA

11. Analysis, analogy and renewal: The adventure of the typological city
Lecture notesTo each lecture an overview is listet within a script, that can be purchased at the chair for the history of urban design (HIL D 75.2) at the price of CHF 25,-. The script serves as an auxiliary means to the attended lecture compiling the most important illustrations showed and the names and dates of the buildings and its builders along with a short introductory note.
Aside this script the chair offers the ‚Quellentextbände' (sourcetexts) which help to extend the knowledge of theoretical discourses in the field of urban design. For the master program the institute offers one volume of texts at the price of CHF 5,-. The script is in German, the ‚Quellentextbände’ are reprinted in their original languages.
LiteratureFurther recommended literature to consult is listet within the script.

Das Frühjahrssemester 2021 findet bis auf Weiteres online statt. Ausnahmen: Veranstaltungen, die nur mit Präsenz vor Ort durchführbar sind. Bitte beachten Sie die Informationen der Dozierenden.

063-0366-00L  Die Architektur der Stadt von der Moderne bis Heute

SemesterHerbstsemester 2016
DozierendeV. Magnago Lampugnani
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheDeutsch


KurzbeschreibungDie Vorlesung widmet sich der Entwicklung des Städtebaus im 20. Jahrhundert und beschreibt an ausgewählten Theorien, Projekten und realisierten Planungen die Geschichte der modernen Stadt. In der Veranstaltung werden die historischen und zeitgenössischen Planungen und Methoden erläutert und die einzelnen Entwicklungen in einen grösseren Zusammenhang gestellt.
LernzielDas Sujet der Vorlesungsreihe ist die Geschichte der Architektur der Stadt. Sie wird in erster Linie in ihrer konkreten dreidimensionalen Form als komplexes menschliches Artefakt analysiert. Es werden aber auch die philosophischen oder religiösen Prinzipien, die gesellschaftlichen Verhältnisse, die Eigentumsverhältnisse sowie die Mechanismen der wirtschaftlichen Verwertung der Grundstücke, die Bautechniken und die intellektuellen, literarischen oder künstlerischen Einflüsse untersucht, die diesem Artefakt zugrunde liegen. Städtebau wird als eigenständige Disziplin behandelt, die eigenen Gesetzen folgt, dabei jedoch entscheidenden ausserdisziplinären Einflüssen ausgesetzt ist. Neben den realisierten Städten, Stadterweiterungen oder Stadtumgestaltungen werden auch nicht verwirklichte Pläne und Visionen analysiert. Denn sie stellen zuweilen ideengeschichtliche Höhepunkte dar, die den Realisationen ebenbürtig oder gar überlegen sind.
InhaltDie einsemestrige Vorlesung im Herbstsemesters beinhaltet die Entwicklungen des 20. Jahrhunderts

1. Le Corbusier: Theorien, Visionen und Kahlschläge im Namen der autorité

2. Das Amerika des Jazz Age: Zwischen Metropolis of Tomorrow und Broadacre City

3. Im Italien des Faschismus: Monumentalkomplexe und Gründungsstädte zwischen Modernisierungseifer und Repräsentationsmanie

4. Städtebau in totalitären Regimen: Die Architekten des Tausendjährigen Reiches und die "Ingenieure des Glücks" der Sowjetunion von Stalin

5. Vergangenheitsbewältigung und Kalter Krieg: Wiederaufbau im zweigeteilten Deutschland

6. Der Mythos des menschlichen Massstabs: Die 1950er-Jahre in Spanien, Grossbritannien, Skandinavien und Italien

7. Nachkriegsexperimente: Rationalistischer Klassizismus in Frankreich

8. Zwei Gründungshauptstädte des 20. Jahrhunderts: Chandigarh und Brasilia

9. Fiktionen und Visionen: Die Internationale der Stadtutopien

10. Die zweite Eroberung des nordamerikanischen Territoriums: Das Automobil und die Stadt in den USA

11. Analyse, Analogie und Erneuerung: Die Abenteuer der typologischen Stadt
SkriptDie Vorlesungen sind in einem Skript zusammengefasst, das an der Professur für Geschichte des Städtebaus (HIL D 75.2) zum Preis von CHF 20,- gekauft werden kann. Das Skript dient als Unterstützung des Vorlesungsbesuches, da in ihm eine Auswahl der wichtigsten Abbildungen aufgenommen wurde, zu jedem Kapitel ein kurzer Einleitungstext und die Namen und Daten der wichtigsten Bauten und ihrer Protagonisten zu finden sind.
Daneben bietet der Lehrstuhl Quellentextbände an, die zum einen für die Vertiefung in die Materie herangezogen werden können und zum anderen eine Übung für die, in der schriftlichen Prüfung beinhaltende, Textanalyse darstellen. Für den Master-Studiengang wird ein Textband angeboten, der zum Preis von CHF 5,- zu erwerben ist.
LiteraturDie Literaturhinweise zu den einzelnen Kapiteln befinden sich im Skript.