626-0012-00L  Bioengineering

SemesterSpring Semester 2017
LecturersS. Panke, J. G. Snedeker
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionGerman
CommentFor the Focus Biomedical Engineering this course is strongly recommended to be chosen among the Electives.


AbstractAn introduction to biology for engineers: basic biochemistry, cell metabolism (principles of energy and mass transfer in cellular systems), cell biology (structure and composition of cells, transport processes across cell membranes, growth and reproduction of cells), cellular and molecular biophysics, quantitative tools used in bio- and biomedical engineering
ObjectiveStudents that already posses an engineering background will be exposed to a broad introduction of fundamental concepts in the fields of biology and chemistry. Focus will be given to aspects relevant to research and development projects in the fields of biotechnology, bioprocess engineering, or biomedical devices. The course will highlight technically exploitable elements in biology and chemistry, to provide the basic understanding and a necessary vocabulary for interdisciplinary communication with biologists / biotechnologists.
ContentBasic biochemistry, cell metabolism (principles of energy and mass transfer in the cell, biocatalysis and enzymes, cellular respiration, protein synthesis, regulation), cellular biology (structure and composition of cells, transport processes across cell membranes, growth and reproduction of cells) , introduction to biotechnology tools and applications of molecular and cellular engineering.
Lecture notesLecture slides and supporting material made available for download on ILIAS.
LiteratureNA Campbell, JB Reece : Biology, Oxford University Press; B. Alberts et al : Molecular Biology of the Cell , Garland Science; J. Koolman , Roehm KH : Color Atlas of Biochemistry, Thieme-Verlag.; CR Jacobs, H Huang, RY Kwon: Introduction to Cell Mechanics and Mechanobiology, Garland Science;

Das Herbstsemester 2020 findet in einer gemischten Form aus Online- und Präsenzunterricht statt.
Bitte lesen Sie die publizierten Informationen zu den einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen genau.

626-0012-00L  Bioengineering

SemesterFrühjahrssemester 2017
DozierendeS. Panke, J. G. Snedeker
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheDeutsch
KommentarFür die Fokus-Vertiefung Biomedizinische Technik ist die Wahl dieses Wahlfaches dringend empfohlen.


KurzbeschreibungEinführung in die Biologie für Ingenieure: Grundlagen der Biochemie, des zellulären Metabolismus (Prinzipien von Energie- und Stofftransfer in zellulären Systemen), der Zellbiologie (Struktur und Zusammensetzung von Zellen), von Transportvorgängen über Zellmembranen, Wachstum, Zellreproduktion); zelluläre und molekulare Biophysik, quantitative Methoden in Bio- und biomedizinischem Engineering
LernzielStudenten, die bereits über die Grundlagen in den Ingenieurswissenschaften verfügen werden breit in die Grundlagen in den Bereichen Biologie und Biochemie eingeführt. Der Fokus wird dabei auf solchen Aspekten liegen, die relevant für R&D Projekt in den Bereichen Biotechnologie, Bioverfahrenstechnik und biomedizinische Technik sind. Technisch nutzbare Aspekte von Biologie und Biochemie werden angesprochen, um das grundlegende Verständnis und Vokabular für die Kommunikation mit Biologen und Biotechnologen zu ermöglichen.
InhaltGrundlagen der Biochemie, des zellulären Metabolismus (Prinzipien von Energie- und Stofftransfer in zellulären Systemen), der Zellbiologie (Struktur und Zusammensetzung von Zellen, Transportvorgänge über Zellmembranen hinweg, Wachstum, Zellreproduktion), Biotechnologie und die Einführung quantitativer Methoden für die Biotechnologie und das biomedizinische Ingenieurwesen
SkriptDie Präsentationen in den Vorlesungen werden auf ILIAS zur Verfügung gestellt.
LiteraturNA Campbell, JB Reece : Biology, Oxford University Press; B. Alberts et al : Molecular Biology of the Cell , Garland Science; J. Koolman , Roehm KH : Color Atlas of Biochemistry, Thieme-Verlag.; CR Jacobs, H Huang, RY Kwon: Introduction to Cell Mechanics and Mechanobiology, Garland Science;