From 2 November 2020, the autumn semester 2020 will take place online. Exceptions: Courses that can only be carried out with on-site presence.
Please note the information provided by the lecturers via e-mail.

535-0421-00L  Galenical Pharmacy I

SemesterAutumn Semester 2017
LecturersJ.‑C. Leroux, B. A. Gander
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionEnglish


AbstractPrinciples and technologies for the manufacturing of dosage forms and drug delivery systems. Knowledge of pharm. excipients, materials, containers, liquid and semi-solid dosage forms, their production, function, quality and application. Comprehension of molecular interactions in solution and colloidal systems. Comprehension of interfacial phenomena and stabilization measures in dosage forms.
ObjectiveKnowledge of the most important pharmaceutical excipients, materials, containers, liquid and semi-solid dosage forms, of their production, function, quality, stability and application. Comprehension of the molecular interactions in solution and colloidal systems. Comprehension of interfacial phenomena and stabilization measures in disperse dosage forms.
ContentIntroduction and overview of important fundamentals, principles and technologies for the development and manufacturing of dosage forms and drug delivery systems. Overview of the most important pharmaceutical excipients and polymers, their structure, properties and processing; importance of materials properties for containers. Pharmaceutical solvents, fundamentals of solubility and solubilization of drugs. Water treatment processes, sterilization techniques and quality requirements of pharmaceutical water. Parenteral dosage forms and liquid ophthalmics. Surfactants, micelle formation and colloidal systems. Liquid suspensions and emulsions. Stabilization measures in dosage forms.
LiteratureL.V. Allen, N.G. Popovich, H.C. Ansel, Ansel's Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery Systems, 10th Ed, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Baltimore 2014.

M. E. Aulton and K. M. G. Taylor, Aulton's Pharmaceutics: The design and manufacture of medicines, 4th ed, Churchill Livingston, Philadelphia, 2013.

L. Felton, Remington - Essentials of Pharmaceutics, Pharmaceutical Press, London, 2013.

Sinko P.J., Martin's Physical Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, 7th ed, Wolters Kluwer, Philadelphia, 2017.
Prerequisites / NoticeLanguage: German and English

Das Herbstsemester 2020 findet in einer gemischten Form aus Online- und Präsenzunterricht statt.
Bitte lesen Sie die publizierten Informationen zu den einzelnen Lehrveranstaltungen genau.

535-0421-00L  Galenische Pharmazie I

SemesterHerbstsemester 2017
DozierendeJ.‑C. Leroux, B. A. Gander
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheEnglisch


KurzbeschreibungPrinzipien und Techniken der Herstellung von Arzneiformen und Drug Delivery Systemen. Kenntnis pharm. Hilfsstoffe, Materialien, Behältnisse, flüssiger und halbfester Arzneiformen, deren Herstellung, Funktionen, Qualität und Anwendungen. Verständnis molekularer Wechselwirkungen in Lösungen und kolloidalen Systemen. Verständnis von Grenzflächenphänomenen und Stablisierungsmassnahmen in Arzneiformen.
LernzielKenntnis der wichtigsten pharmazeutischen Hilfsstoffe, Materialien, Behältnisse, flüssigen und halbfesten Arzneiformen, deren Herstellung, Eigenschaften, Funktionen, Qualität Stabilität und Anwendungen. Verständnis der molekularen Wechselwirkungen in Lösungen und kolloidalen Systemen. Verständnis der Prinzipien von Grenzflächenphänomenen und Stablisierungsmassnahmen in dispersen Arzneiformen.
InhaltEinführung und Überblick über wichtige Grundlagen, Prinzipien, und Techniken zur Entwicklung und Herstellung von Arzneiformen und Drug Delivery Systemen. Übersicht über die wichtigsten pharmazeutischen Hilfsstoffe und Polymere, ihrer Struktur, Eigenschaften und Verarbeitung; Bedeutung der Materialeigenschaften für Primärpackmittel. Pharmazeutische Lösungsmittel, Grundlagen der Löslichkeit und Löslichkeitsverbesserung von Arzneistoffen. Wasseraufbereitung, Steriltechnik und Qualitätsanforderungen an pharmazeutische Wässer. Parenteralia und flüssige Ophthalmika. Tenside, Mizellbildung und kolloidale Systeme. Flüssige Suspensionen und Emulsionen. Stabilisierungsmassnahmen in Arzneiformen.
LiteraturL.V. Allen, N.G. Popovich, H.C. Ansel, Ansel's Pharmaceutical Dosage Forms and Drug Delivery Systems, 10th Ed, Lippincott Williams & Wilkins, Baltimore 2014.

M. E. Aulton and K. M. G. Taylor, Aulton's Pharmaceutics: The design and manufacture of medicines, 4th ed, Churchill Livingston, Philadelphia, 2013.

L. Felton, Remington - Essentials of Pharmaceutics, Pharmaceutical Press, London, 2013.

Sinko P.J., Martin's Physical Pharmacy and Pharmaceutical Sciences, 7th ed, Wolters Kluwer, Philadelphia, 2017.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesUnterrichtssprache: Deutsch und Englisch