Autumn Semester 2020 takes place in a mixed form of online and classroom teaching.
Please read the published information on the individual courses carefully.

851-0522-00L  Digital Statehood (1960-2000). Imaginaries, Experiences, Trading Zones

SemesterSpring Semester 2020
Lecturers
Periodicitynon-recurring course
CourseDoes not take place this semester.
Language of instructionGerman


AbstractThe seminar addresses the expectations, experiences and negotiations in which digital processes, legal regulations and administrative routines are to be harmonized in the Swiss Federal Administration (1960-2000).
ObjectiveStudents should understand the interactions between technological processes, legal regulations and bureaucratic routines. In addition to reading research literature and conceptual work, the main focus is on studying relevant sources.
ContentSince the late 1950s, public administrations have been using computers to perform their tasks. Focusing on the use of computers in the Swiss federal administration, the seminar aims to identify how digital processes, legal regulations and administrative routines should be reconciled in public administrations. On the basis of IT projects of the Swiss Federal Administration, it will be investigated how computers were made usable and which options for action were opened up to the computer-supported federal state as a result. Last but not least, we want to ask how a (computer-) history of digital statehood can be written.

851-0522-00L  Computer und Staatlichkeit (1960-2000). Erwartungshorizonte, Erfahrungsräume, Aushandlungszonen

SemesterFrühjahrssemester 2020
Dozierende
Periodizitäteinmalige Veranstaltung
LehrveranstaltungFindet dieses Semester nicht statt.
LehrspracheDeutsch


KurzbeschreibungDas Seminar behandelt die Erwartungen, Erfahrungen und Aushandlungen, in denen in der Schweizer Bundesverwaltung (1960-2000) digitale Prozesse, rechtliche Regelungen und administrative Routinen in Einklang gebracht werden sollten.
LernzielDie Studierenden sollen Wechselwirkungen zwischen technologischen Prozessen, rechtlichen Regelungen und bürokratischen Routinen verstehen. Neben der Lektüre von Forschungsliteratur und konzeptueller Arbeit steht das Quellenstudium im Vordergrund.
InhaltSeit Ende der 1950er Jahre setzen staatliche Verwaltungen Computer zum Vollzug ihrer Aufgaben ein. Mit dem Blick auf den Computereinsatz in der Schweizer Bundesverwaltung will das Seminar herausarbeiten, wie in staatlichen Verwaltungen digitale Prozesse, rechtliche Regelungen und administrative Routinen in Einklang gebracht werden sollten. Anhand von Informatikprojekten der Bundesverwaltung soll erarbeitet werden, wie Computer nutzbar gemacht wurden und welche Handlungsoptionen sich dem computergestützten Bundesstaat dadurch eröffneten. Nicht zuletzt wollen wir fragen, wie sich eine (Computer-)Geschichte digitaler Staatlichkeit schreiben lässt.