Autumn Semester 2020 takes place in a mixed form of online and classroom teaching.
Please read the published information on the individual courses carefully.

701-1437-01L  Practical Course Macroinvertebrates

SemesterAutumn Semester 2016
LecturersJ. Jokela
Periodicityyearly recurring course
Language of instructionGerman



Catalogue data

AbstractThis course gives an overview of the typical aquatic macroinvertebrate groups in Switzerland. Beside a theoretical background on the different groups the focus is laid on the determination of the most important species groups and their indentification traits, also using identification keys. Practical experience in benthic sampling techniques is collected during an excursion.
ObjectiveDuring this course you will get an overview of the typical aquatic macroinvertebrates in Switzerland and the common sampling techniques. After this course you will be able to identify the most important aquatic species groups at the level of order/family and know the most important identification traits. You will also be able to use identification literature commonly used in Switzerland.
During an excursion, you will apply the theoretical identification knowledge to field situations.
ContentThe taxonomic part will cover macroinvertebrates (e.g. Crustacean, aquatic insects). The goal is to get to know the most common aquatic taxa in Switzerland, to identify them with commonly used identification literature, and to get an idea how these organisms are used in research and practice. (language: German, translation of the most important things during the course possible)
The field excursion takes place Tuesday 25.10.2016.
Lecture notesCourse notes and power point presentations provided during the course.
Prerequisites / NoticeThe maximal participating number of students is 8 from D-USYS and 14 from D-BIOL. In case of too many students, those that simultaneously participate in the courses "701-1437-00 Limnoecology" and "701-1437-02 Bestimmungskurs aquatische Mikroinvertebraten und Kryptogamen" are given priority. Sign in until 15.9.2016, free places will be distributed 16.9.2016.

The field excursion takes place Tuesday afternoon 25.10.2016 from 13-17.

Performance assessment

Performance assessment information (valid until the course unit is held again)
Performance assessment as a semester course
ECTS credits2 credits
ExaminersJ. Jokela
Typegraded semester performance
Language of examinationGerman
RepetitionRepetition only possible after re-enrolling for the course unit.
Additional information on mode of examinationLeistungskontrolle auch auf Englisch möglich

Learning materials

No public learning materials available.
Only public learning materials are listed.

Courses

NumberTitleHoursLecturers
701-1437-01 PBestimmungskurs aquatische Makroinvertebraten
The maximal participating number of students is 8 from D-USYS and 14 from D-BIOL. In case of too many students, those that simultaneously participate in the courses "701-1437-00 Limnoecology" and "701-1437-02 Bestimmungskurs aquatische Mikroinvertebraten und Kryptogamen" are given priority. Sign in until 15.09.2016, free places will be distributed 16.09.2016.

Takes place at Eawag Dübendorf (BU G03).
28s hrs
Tue/113-17EAW - EAWAG »
J. Jokela

Groups

No information on groups available.

Restrictions

There are no additional restrictions for the registration.

Offered in

ProgrammeSectionType
Environmental Sciences MasterExpertise in Biological DiversityWInformation

Das Frühjahrssemester 2021 findet sicher bis Ostern online statt. Ausnahmen: Veranstaltungen, die nur mit Präsenz vor Ort durchführbar sind. Bitte beachten Sie die Informationen der Dozierenden.

701-1437-01L  Bestimmungskurs aquatische Makroinvertebraten

SemesterHerbstsemester 2016
DozierendeJ. Jokela
Periodizitätjährlich wiederkehrende Veranstaltung
LehrspracheDeutsch



Katalogdaten

KurzbeschreibungIn diesem Kurs werden die wichtigsten Organismengruppen der aquatischen Makroinvertebraten der Schweiz behandelt. Neben einem theoretischen Hintergrund zu den einzelnen Gruppen wird das Erkennen der häufigsten Vertreter anhand eindeutiger Merkmale sowie das Bestimmen der übrigen Tiere mit Hilfe von Bestimmungsliteratur geübt. Auf einer Exkursion werden die gängigsten Sampling-Methoden angewandt.
LernzielWährend diesem Kurs werden Sie eine Übersicht der häufigsten aquatischen Makroinvertebraten der Schweiz sowie der gängigsten Probenahme- und Konservierungsmethoden erhalten. Nach diesem Kurs werden Sie in der Lage sein die wichtigsten aquatischen Artengruppen auf dem Niveau der Ordnung bzw. Familie zu benennen sowie deren wichtigsten Erkennungsmerkmale zu beschreiben. Auch sind Sie in der Lage, für die Schweiz gängige Bestimmungsschlüssel richtig anzuwenden. Während einer Exkursion werden Sie zudem die Möglichkeit erhalten das gelernte theoretische Wissen in einer Feldsituation praktisch umzusetzen
InhaltDieser taxonomische Bestimmungskurs behandelt aquatische Wirbellose (z.B. Krebstiere, aquatische Insekten). Das Ziel ist es die typischen aquatische Taxa der Schweiz kennenzulernen, diese mit Hilfe von Bestimmungsschlüssel zu identifizieren und eine Idee zu erhalten, wie diese Organismen in der Forschung und in der Praxis (Bioindikation) eingesetzt bzw. untersucht werden. Die Originalsprache des Kurses ist Deutsch.
Die Feldexkursion findet am Dienstag 25.10.2016 statt.
SkriptKursunterlagen sowie Power Point Präsentationen werden während des Kurses ausgehändigt.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesDie maximale Teilnehmerzahl beschränkt sich auf 8 D-USYS und 14 D-BIOL Studenten. Bei zu vielen Anmeldungen wird den Studierenden, welche zeitgleich die Kurse "701-1437-00 Limnoecology" sowie "701-1437-02 Bestimmungskurs aquatische Mikroinvertebraten und Kryptogamen" belegen, Vorrang gegeben.
Einschreibung bis 15.9.2016, freie Pätze werden am 16.9.2016 vergeben.

Die Feldexkursion findet am Dienstagnachmittag 25.10.2016 von 13-17 Uhr statt.

Leistungskontrolle

Information zur Leistungskontrolle (gültig bis die Lerneinheit neu gelesen wird)
Leistungskontrolle als Semesterkurs
ECTS Kreditpunkte2 KP
PrüfendeJ. Jokela
Formbenotete Semesterleistung
PrüfungsspracheDeutsch
RepetitionRepetition nur nach erneuter Belegung der Lerneinheit möglich.
Zusatzinformation zum PrüfungsmodusLeistungskontrolle auch auf Englisch möglich

Lernmaterialien

Keine öffentlichen Lernmaterialien verfügbar.
Es werden nur die öffentlichen Lernmaterialien aufgeführt.

Lehrveranstaltungen

NummerTitelUmfangDozierende
701-1437-01 PBestimmungskurs aquatische Makroinvertebraten
The maximal participating number of students is 8 from D-USYS and 14 from D-BIOL. In case of too many students, those that simultaneously participate in the courses "701-1437-00 Limnoecology" and "701-1437-02 Bestimmungskurs aquatische Mikroinvertebraten und Kryptogamen" are given priority. Sign in until 15.09.2016, free places will be distributed 16.09.2016.

Takes place at Eawag Dübendorf (BU G03).
28s Std.
Di/113-17EAW - EAWAG »
J. Jokela

Gruppen

Keine Informationen zu Gruppen vorhanden.

Einschränkungen

Keine zusätzlichen Belegungseinschränkungen vorhanden.

Angeboten in

StudiengangBereichTyp
Umweltnaturwissenschaften MasterFachkenntnisse zur biologischen VielfaltWInformation