Autumn Semester 2020 takes place in a mixed form of online and classroom teaching.
Please read the published information on the individual courses carefully.

Search result: Catalogue data in Autumn Semester 2016

Environmental Sciences Bachelor Information
Bachelor Studies (Programme Regulations 2011)
Basic Courses II
Examination Blocks
Examination Block 1
NumberTitleTypeECTSHoursLecturers
402-0063-00LPhysics IIO5 credits3V + 1UA. Vaterlaus
AbstractIntroduction to the "way of thinking" and the methodology in Physics, with the help of demonstration experiments. The Chapters treated are Electromagnetism, Refraction and Diffraction of Waves, Elements of Quantum Mechanics with applications to Spectroscopy, Thermodynamics, Phase Transitions, Transport Phenomena. Whenever possible, examples relevant to the students' main field of study are given.
ObjectiveIntroduction to the scientific methodology. The student should develop his/her capability to turn physical observations into mathematical models, and to solve the latter.
ContentElektromagnetismus, Elektromagnetische Wellen, Wellenoptik, Strahlenoptik, Quantenoptik, Quantenmechanik, Thermische Eigenschaften, Transportphänomene, Wärmestrahlung
Lecture notesSkript wird verteilt.
LiteratureFriedhelm Kuypers
Physik für Ingenieure und Naturwissenschaftler
Band 2 Elektrizität, Optik, Wellen
Wiley-VCH, 2012
ISBN 3527411445, 9783527411443

Douglas C. Giancoli
Physik
3. erweiterte Auflage
Pearson Studium

Hans J. Paus
Physik in Experimenten und Beispielen
Carl Hanser Verlag, München, 2002, 1068 S.

Paul A. Tipler
Physik
Spektrum Akademischer Verlag, 1998, 1522 S., ca Fr. 120.-

David Halliday Robert Resnick Jearl Walker
Physik
Wiley-VCH, 2003, 1388 S., Fr. 87.- (bis 31.12.03)

dazu gratis Online Ressourcen (z.B. Simulationen): www.halliday.de
701-0245-00LIntroduction to Evolutionary BiologyO2 credits2VG. Velicer, S. Wielgoss
AbstractThis course introduces important questions about the evolutionary processes involved in the generation and maintenance of biological diversity across all domains of life and how evolutionary science investigates these questions.
ObjectiveThis course introduces important questions about the evolutionary processes involved in the generation and maintenance of biological diversity across all domains of life and how evolutionary science investigates these questions. The topics covered range from different forms of selection, phylogenetic analysis, population genetics, life history theory, the evolution of sex, social evolution to human evolution. These topics are important for the understanding of a number of evolutionary problems in the basic and applied sciences.
ContentTopics likely to be covered in this course include research methods in evolutionary biology, adaptation, evolution of sex, evolutionary transitions, human evolution, infectious disease evolution, life history evolution, macroevolution, mechanisms of evolution, phylogenetic analysis, population dynamics, population genetics, social evolution, speciation and types of selection.
LiteratureTextbook:
Evolutionary Analysis
Scott Freeman and Jon Herron
5th Edition, English.
Prerequisites / NoticeThe exam is based on lecture and textbook.
701-0255-00LBiochemistryO2 credits2VH.‑P. Kohler
AbstractBuilding on the biology courses in the 1st and 2nd semesters, this course covers basic biochemical knowledge in the areas of enzymology and metabolism. Those completing the course are able to describe and understand fundamental cellular metabolic processes.
ObjectiveStudents are able to understand
- the structure and function of biological macromolecules
- the kinetic bases of enzyme reactions
- thermodynamic and mechanistic basics of relevant metabolic processes
Students are able to describe the relevant metabolic reactions in detail
ContentProgram

Introduction, basics, composition of cells, biochemical units, repetition of relevant organic chemistry
Structure and function of proteins
Carbohydrates
Lipids an biological membranes
Enzymes and enzyme kinetics
Catalytic strategies
Metabolism: Basic concepts and design. Repetition of basic thermodynamics
Glycolysis, fermentation
The citric acid cycle
Oxidative phosphorylation
Fatty acid metabolism
Lecture notesHorton et al. (Pearson) serves as lecture notes.
Prerequisites / NoticeBasic knowledge in biology and chemistry is a precondition.
752-4001-00LMicrobiology Information O2 credits2VM. Schuppler, S. Schlegel, J. Vorholt-Zambelli
AbstractTeaching of basic knowledge in microbiology with main focus on Microbial Cell Structure and Function, Molecular Genetics, Microbial Growth, Metabolic Diversity, Phylogeny and Taxonomy, Prokaryotic Diversity, Human-Microbe Interactions, Biotechnology.
ObjectiveTeaching of basic knowledge in microbiology.
ContentDer Schwerpunkt liegt auf den Themen: Bakterielle Zellbiologie, Molekulare Genetik, Wachstumsphysiologie, Biochemische Diversität, Phylogenie und Taxonomie, Prokaryotische Vielfalt, Interaktion zwischen Menschen und Mikroorganismen sowie Biotechnologie.
Lecture notesWird von den jeweiligen Dozenten ausgegeben.
LiteratureDie Behandlung der Themen erfolgt auf der Basis des Lehrbuchs Brock, Biology of Microorganisms
Examination Block 2
NumberTitleTypeECTSHoursLecturers
701-0023-00LAtmosphere Information O3 credits2VH. Wernli, E. M. Fischer, T. Peter
AbstractBasic principles of the atmosphere, physical structure and chemical composition, trace gases, atmospheric cycles, circulation, stability, radiation, condensation, clouds, oxidation capacity and ozone layer.
ObjectiveUnderstanding of basic physical and chemical processes in the atmosphere. Understanding of mechanisms of and interactions between: weather - climate, atmosphere - ocean - continents, troposhere - stratosphere. Understanding of environmentally relevant structures and processes on vastly differing scales. Basis for the modelling of complex interrelations in the atmospehre.
ContentBasic principles of the atmosphere, physical structure and chemical composition, trace gases, atmospheric cycles, circulation, stability, radiation, condensation, clouds, oxidation capacity and ozone layer.
Lecture notesWritten information will be supplied.
Literature- John H. Seinfeld and Spyros N. Pandis, Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics: From Air Pollution to Climate Change, Wiley, New York, 1998.
- Gösta H. Liljequist, Allgemeine Meteorologie, Vieweg, Braunschweig, 1974.
701-0071-00LMathematics III: Systems AnalysisO4 credits2V + 1UN. Gruber, D. Byrne
AbstractThe objective of the systems analysis course is to deepen and illustrate the mathematical concepts on the basis of a series of very concrete examples. Topics covered include: linear box models with one or several variables, non-linear box models with one or several variables, time-discrete models, and continuous models in time and space.
ObjectiveLearning and applying of concepts (models) and quantitative methods to address concrete problems of environmental relevance. Understanding and applying the systems-analytic approach, i.e., Recognizing the core of the problem - simplification - quantitative approach - prediction.
Contenthttp://www.up.ethz.ch/education/systems-analysis.html
Lecture notesOverhead slides will be made available through Ilias.
LiteratureImboden, D.S. and S. Pfenninger (2013) Introduction to Systems Analysis: Mathematically Modeling Natural Systems. Berlin Heidelberg: Springer Verlag.

http://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F978-3-642-30639-6
701-0401-00LHydrosphereO3 credits2VR. Kipfer, C. Roques
AbstractQualitative and quantitative understanding of the physical processes that control the terrestrial water cycle. Energy and mass exchange, mixing and transport processes are described and the coupling of the hydrosphere with the atmosphere and the solid Earth are discussed.
ObjectiveQualitative and quantitative understanding of the physical processes that control the terrestrial water cycle. Energy and mass exchange, mixing and transport processes are described and the coupling of the hydrosphere with the atmosphere and the solid Earth are discussed.
ContentTopics of the course.
Physical properties of water (i.e. density and equation of state)
- global water resources
Exchange at boundaries
- energy (thermal & kinetic), gas exchange
Mixing and transport processes in open waters
- vertical stratification, large scale transport
- turbulence and mixing
- mixing and exchange processes in rivers
Groundwater and its dynamics
- ground water as part of the terrestrial water cycle
- ground water hydraulics, Darcy's law
- aquifers and their properties
- hydrochemistry and tracer
- ground water use
Case studies
- 1. Water as resource, 2. Water and climate
Lecture notesIn addition to the suggested literature handouts are distributed.
LiteratureSuggested literature.
a) Park, Ch., 2001, The Environment, Routledge, 2001
b) Price, M., 1996. Introducing groundwater. Chapman & Hall, London u.a.
Prerequisites / NoticeThe case studies and the analysis of the questions and problems are integral part of the course.
701-0501-00LPedosphere Information O3 credits2VR. Kretzschmar
AbstractIntroduction to the formation and properties of soils as a function of parent rock, landscape position, climate, and soil organisms. Complex relationships between soil forming processes, physical and chemical soil properties, soil biota, and ecological soil properties are explained and illustrated by numerous examples.
ObjectiveIntroduction to the formation and properties of soils as a function of parent rock, landscape position, climate, and soil organisms. Complex relationships between soil forming processes, physical and chemical soil properties, soil biota, and ecological soil properties are explained and illustrated by numerous examples.
ContentDefinition of the pedosphere, soil functions, rocks as parent materials, minerals and weathering, soil organisms, soil organic matter, physical soil properties and functions, chemical soil properties and functions, soil formation, principles of soil classification, global soil regions, soil fertility, land use and soil degradation.
Lecture notesLecture notes can be purchased during the first lecture (15.- SFr)
Literature- Scheffer/Schachtschabel - Soil Science, Springer, Heidelberg, 2016.

- Brady N.C. and Weil, R.R. The Nature and Properties of Soils. 14th ed. Prentice Hall, 2007.
Prerequisites / NoticePrerequisites: Basic knowledge in chemistry, biology and geology.
Additional Compulsory Courses
NumberTitleTypeECTSHoursLecturers
701-0033-00LLaboratory Course in Physics for Students of Environmental Sciences Information O2 credits4PM. Münnich, A. Biland, N. Gruber
AbstractThe course provides an individual experience of physical phenomena and the basic principles of experiments. By carrying out simple physical experiments the students learn the proper use measuring instruments, the correct evaluation of report of the measured data and how to interpret the final results.
ObjectiveThis laboratory course aims to provide basic knowledge of
- the setup of a physics experiment,
- the use of measurement instruments,
- various measuring techniques,
- the analysis or measurement errors,
- and the interpretations of the measured quantities.
ContentThe students select 8 out of 20 experiments which they like to conduct. For each of these experiments the students will analyze the data they measure estimate the error of there measurements and compare these with the physical theory. Additionally each student will present one of their experiments in a seminar.
Lecture notesManuals for the experiments are provided online.
701-0035-00LIntegrated Practical Observation Networks Information O1.5 credits4PJ. Henneberger, T. Tormann
AbstractObservation networks - the combination of individual instruments - are the starting point of quantitative environmental studies. The structure and idiosyncrasies of existing observation networks are shown. When working in individual experiments on practical problems, various types of observation networks are dealt with; questions related to data quality and data availability are discussed.
ObjectiveGetting acquainted with existing networks. Insight into problems related to measuring and interpreting multi-dimensional fields of atmospheric physical, atmospheric chemical, and geophysical parameters.
ContentObservation networks for atmospheric physical, atmospheric chemical, geophysical, hydrological and climatological parameters on different scales (synoptic: 1000 km; mesoscale: 100 km, and microscale: 100 m). Combination of surface observation with remotely sensed data (satellite, radar). Solving interpolation problems in multi-dimensional fields of the observed variables. Assessing the representativity of local values, i.e., the directly observed variable in an observation network.
Lecture notesThe script is published anew every year. Apart from the description of the scientific problems to be worked on in individual experiments, it contains some theoretical chapters on observation networks, as well as guidelines for writing and publishing scientific papers. The script can be downloaded as pdf from the course webpage.
LiteratureLiterature is listed in the script.
  •  Page  1  of  1

Suchergebnis: Katalogdaten im Herbstsemester 2016

Umweltnaturwissenschaften Bachelor Information
Bachelor-Studium (Studienreglement 2011)
Grundlagenfächer II
Prüfungsblöcke
Prüfungsblock 1
NummerTitelTypECTSUmfangDozierende
402-0063-00LPhysik IIO5 KP3V + 1UA. Vaterlaus
KurzbeschreibungEinführung in die Denk- und Arbeitsweise in der Physik anhand von Demonstrationsexperimenten: Elektromagnetismus, Brechung und Beugung von Wellen, Elemente der Quantenmechanik mit Anwendung auf die Spektroskopie, Thermodynamik, Phasenumwandlungen, Transportphänomene. Wo immer möglich werden Anwendungen aus dem Bereich des Studienganges gebracht.
LernzielFörderung des wissenschaftlichen Denkens. Es soll die Fähigkeit entwickelt werden, beobachtetete physikalische Phänomene mathematisch zu modellieren und die entsprechenden Modelle zu lösen.
InhaltElektromagnetismus, Elektromagnetische Wellen, Wellenoptik, Strahlenoptik, Quantenoptik, Quantenmechanik, Thermische Eigenschaften, Transportphänomene, Wärmestrahlung
SkriptSkript wird verteilt.
LiteraturFriedhelm Kuypers
Physik für Ingenieure und Naturwissenschaftler
Band 2 Elektrizität, Optik, Wellen
Wiley-VCH, 2012
ISBN 3527411445, 9783527411443

Douglas C. Giancoli
Physik
3. erweiterte Auflage
Pearson Studium

Hans J. Paus
Physik in Experimenten und Beispielen
Carl Hanser Verlag, München, 2002, 1068 S.

Paul A. Tipler
Physik
Spektrum Akademischer Verlag, 1998, 1522 S., ca Fr. 120.-

David Halliday Robert Resnick Jearl Walker
Physik
Wiley-VCH, 2003, 1388 S., Fr. 87.- (bis 31.12.03)

dazu gratis Online Ressourcen (z.B. Simulationen): www.halliday.de
701-0245-00LIntroduction to Evolutionary BiologyO2 KP2VG. Velicer, S. Wielgoss
KurzbeschreibungThis course introduces important questions about the evolutionary processes involved in the generation and maintenance of biological diversity across all domains of life and how evolutionary science investigates these questions.
LernzielThis course introduces important questions about the evolutionary processes involved in the generation and maintenance of biological diversity across all domains of life and how evolutionary science investigates these questions. The topics covered range from different forms of selection, phylogenetic analysis, population genetics, life history theory, the evolution of sex, social evolution to human evolution. These topics are important for the understanding of a number of evolutionary problems in the basic and applied sciences.
InhaltTopics likely to be covered in this course include research methods in evolutionary biology, adaptation, evolution of sex, evolutionary transitions, human evolution, infectious disease evolution, life history evolution, macroevolution, mechanisms of evolution, phylogenetic analysis, population dynamics, population genetics, social evolution, speciation and types of selection.
LiteraturTextbook:
Evolutionary Analysis
Scott Freeman and Jon Herron
5th Edition, English.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesThe exam is based on lecture and textbook.
701-0255-00LBiochemieO2 KP2VH.‑P. Kohler
KurzbeschreibungAufbauend auf den Biologievorlesungen im 1. und 2. Semester werden grundlegende Kenntnisse in Enzymologie und Stoffwechselbiochemie vermittelt. Absolvierende sind in der Lage, wesentliche zelluläre Stoffwechselvorgänge zu beschreiben und zu verstehen.
LernzielStudierende verstehen
- die Struktur und Funktion von biologischen Makromolekülen
- die kinetischen Grundlagen von enzymatischen Reaktionen
- thermodynamische und mechanistische Grundlagen relevanter Stoffwechselprozesse
Die Studierenden sind in der Lage, relevante Stoffwechselreaktionen detailliert zu beschreiben.
InhaltKursinhalt

Einführung, Grundlagen, Zusammensetzung der Zelle, biochemische Einheiten, Repetition relevanter Reaktionen der organischen Chemie
Struktur und Funktion der Proteine
Kohlenhydrate
Lipide und biologische Membranen
Enzyme und Enzymkinetik
Katalytische Strategien
Der Stoffwechsel: Konzepte, Grundmuster und thermodynamische Grundlagen
Glykolyse und Gärung
Citratzyklus
Oxidative Phosphorylierung, Repetition der relevanten Grundlagen der Redoxchemie
Fettsäuremetabolismus
SkriptAls Skript dient: Horton et al. Biochemie (Pearson Verlag).
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesVorausgesetzt werden Basiskenntnisse in Biologie und Chemie.
752-4001-00LMikrobiologie Information O2 KP2VM. Schuppler, S. Schlegel, J. Vorholt-Zambelli
KurzbeschreibungVermittlung der Grundlagen im Fach Mikrobiologie mit Schwerpunkt auf den Themen: Bakterielle Zellbiologie, Molekulare Genetik, Wachstumsphysiologie, Biochemische Diversität, Phylogenie und Taxonomie, Prokaryotische Vielfalt, Interaktion zwischen Menschen und Mikroorganismen sowie Biotechnologie.
LernzielVermittlung der Grundlagen im Fach Mikrobiologie.
InhaltDer Schwerpunkt liegt auf den Themen: Bakterielle Zellbiologie, Molekulare Genetik, Wachstumsphysiologie, Biochemische Diversität, Phylogenie und Taxonomie, Prokaryotische Vielfalt, Interaktion zwischen Menschen und Mikroorganismen sowie Biotechnologie.
SkriptWird von den jeweiligen Dozenten ausgegeben.
LiteraturDie Behandlung der Themen erfolgt auf der Basis des Lehrbuchs Brock, Biology of Microorganisms
Prüfungsblock 2
NummerTitelTypECTSUmfangDozierende
701-0023-00LAtmosphäre Information O3 KP2VH. Wernli, E. M. Fischer, T. Peter
KurzbeschreibungGrundlagen der Atmosphäre, physikalischer Aufbau und chemische Zusammensetzung, Spurengase, Kreisläufe in der Atmosphäre, Zirkulation, Stabilität, Strahlung, Kondensation, Wolken, Oxidationspotential und Ozonschicht.
LernzielVerständnis grundlegender physikalischer und chemischer Prozesse in der Atmosphäre. Kenntnis über die Mechanismen und Zusammenhänge von: Wetter - Klima, Atmosphäre - Ozeane - Kontinente, Troposphäre - Stratosphäre. Verständnis von umweltrelevanten Strukturen und Vorgängen in sehr unterschiedlichem Massstab. Grundlagen für eine modellmässige Darstellung komplexer Zusammenhänge in der Atmosphäre.
InhaltGrundlagen der Atmosphäre, physikalischer Aufbau und chemische Zusammensetzung, Spurengase, Kreisläufe in der Atmosphäre, Zirkulation, Stabilität, Strahlung, Kondensation, Wolken, Oxidationspotential und Ozonschicht.
SkriptSchriftliche Unterlagen werden abgegeben.
Literatur- John H. Seinfeld and Spyros N. Pandis, Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics: From Air Pollution to Climate Change, Wiley, New York, 1998.
- Gösta H. Liljequist, Allgemeine Meteorologie, Vieweg, Braunschweig, 1974.
701-0071-00LMathematik III: SystemanalyseO4 KP2V + 1UN. Gruber, D. Byrne
KurzbeschreibungIn der Systemanalyse geht es darum, durch ausgesuchte praxisnahe Beispiele die in der Mathematik bereit gestellte Theorie zu vertiefen und zu veranschaulichen. Konkret behandelt werden: Dynamische lineare Boxmodelle mit einer und mehreren Variablen; Nichtlineare Boxmodelle mit einer oder mehreren Variablen; zeitdiskrete Modelle, und kontinuierliche Modelle in Raum und Zeit.
LernzielErlernen und Anwendung von Konzepten (Modellen) und quantitativen Methoden zur Lösung von umweltrelevanten Problemen. Verstehen und Umsetzen des systemanalytischen Ansatzes, d.h. Erkennen des Kernes eines Problemes - Abstraktion - Quantitatives Erfassen - Vorhersage.
Inhalthttp://www.up.ethz.ch/education/systems-analysis.html
SkriptFolien werden über Ilias zur Verfügung gestellt.
LiteraturImboden, D. and S. Koch (2003) Systemanalyse - Einführung in die mathematische Modellierung natürlicher Systeme. Berlin Heidelberg: Springer Verlag.
701-0401-00LHydrosphäreO3 KP2VR. Kipfer, C. Roques
KurzbeschreibungQualitatives und quantitatives Verständnis für die Prozesse, welche den Wasserkreislauf der Erde, die Energieflüsse sowie die Mischungs- und Transportprozesse in aquatischen Systemen bestimmen. Inhaltliche und methodische Zusammenhänge zwischen Hydrospäre, Atmosphäre und Pedosphäre werden aufgezeigt.
LernzielQualitatives und quantitatives Verständnis für die Prozesse, welche den Wasserkreislauf der Erde, die Energieflüsse sowie die Mischungs- und Transportprozesse in aquatischen Systemen bestimmen. Inhaltliche und methodische Zusammenhänge zwischen Hydrospäre, Atmosphäre und Pedosphäre werden aufgezeigt.
InhaltThemen der Vorlesung.
Physikalische Eigenschaften des Wassers (Dichte und Zustandsgleichung)
- Globale Wasserresourcen
Prozesse an Grenzflächen
- Energieflüsse (thermisch, kinetisch)
- Verdunstung, Gasaustausch
Stehende Oberflächengewässer (Meer, Seen)
- Wärmebilanz
- vertikale Schichtung und globale thermohaline Zirkulation / grossskalige Strömungen
- Turbulenz und Mischung
- Mischprozesse in Fliessgewässern
Grundwasser und seine Dynamik.
- Grundwasser als Teil des hydrologischen Kreislaufs
- Einzugsgebiete, Wasserbilanzen
- Grundwasserströmung: Darcy-Gesetz, Fliessnetze
- hydraulische Eigenschaften
Grundwasserleiter und ihre Eigenschaften
- Hydrogeochemie: Grundwasser und seine Inhaltsstoffe, Tracer
- Wassernutzung: Trinkwasser, Energiegewinnung, Bewässerung
Fallbeispiele: 1. Wasser als Ressource, 2. Wasser und Klima
SkriptErgänzend zu den empfohlenen Lehrmitteln werden Unterlagen abgegeben.
LiteraturDie Vorlesung stützt sich auf folgende Lehrmittel:
a) Park, Ch., 2001, The Environment, Routledge, 2001
b) Price, M., 1996. Introducing groundwater. Chapman & Hall, London u.a.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesDie Fallbeispiele und die selbständig zu bearbeitende Uebungen sind ein obligatorischer Bestandteil der Lehrveranstaltung.
701-0501-00LPedosphäre Information O3 KP2VR. Kretzschmar
KurzbeschreibungEinführung in die Entstehung und Eigenschaften von Böden in Abhängigkeit von Ausgangsgestein, Relief, Klima und Bodenorganismen. Komplexe Zusammenhänge zwischen den bodenbildenden Prozessen, den physikalischen und chemischen Bodeneigenschaften, Bodenorganismen, und ökologischen Standortseigenschaften von Böden werden erläutert und an Hand von zahlreichen Beispielen illustriert.
LernzielEinführung in die Entstehung und Eigenschaften von Böden in Abhängigkeit von Ausgangsgestein, Relief, Klima und Bodenorganismen. Komplexe Zusammenhänge zwischen den bodenbildenden Prozessen, den physikalischen und chemischen Bodeneigenschaften, Bodenorganismen, und ökologischen Standortseigenschaften von Böden werden erläutert und an Hand von zahlreichen Beispielen illustriert.
InhaltDefinition der Pedosphäre, Bodenfunktionen, Gesteine, Minerale und Verwitterung, Bodenorganismen, organische Bodensubstanz, physikalische Eigenschaften und Funktionen, chemische Eigenschaften und Funktionen, Bodenbildung und Bodenverbreitung, Grundzüge der Bodenklassifikation, Bodenzonen der Erde, Bodenfruchtbarkeit, Bodennutzung und Bodengefährdung.
SkriptSkript wird während der ersten Vorlesung verkauft (15.- SFr).
Literatur- Scheffer F. Scheffer/Schachtschabel - Lehrbuch der Bodenkunde, 16. Auflage, Spektrum Akademischer Verlag, Heidelberg, 2010.

- Brady N.C. and Weil, R.R. The Nature and Properties of Soils. 14th ed. Prentice Hall, 2007.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesVoraussetzungen: Grundlagen in Chemie, Biologie und Geologie.
Weitere obligatorische Fächer
NummerTitelTypECTSUmfangDozierende
701-0033-00LPraktikum Physik für Studierende in Umweltnaturwissenschaften Information O2 KP4PM. Münnich, A. Biland, N. Gruber
KurzbeschreibungAuseinandersetzung mit den grundlegenden Problemen des Experimentes. Durch selbstständige Durchführung physikalischer Versuche aus Teilbereichen der Elementarphysik wird der Einsatz von und der Umgang mit Messinstrumenten sowie die korrekte Auswertung und Beurteilung der Beobachtungen erlernt. Die Physik als persönliches Erlebnis spielt dabei eine wichtige Rolle.
LernzielDie Arbeit im Laboratorium bildet einen wichtigen Teil einer modernen naturwissenschaftlichen Ausbildung. Anhand einfacher, vorgegebenen Versuchsaufbauten soll das Praktikum folgendes vermitteln:

- Den praktische Aufbau des Experimentes und die Kenntnis verschiedener Messmethoden,
- den Einsatz und Umgang von Messinstrumenten,
- die korrekte Durchführung, Auswertung und Beurteilung der Messungen. Ausserdem soll der Kurs die Kenntnisse in Elementarphysik vertiefen.

Neben aus dem Anfängerpraktikum für Physiker ausgewählten Versuchen
bezwecken speziell für den Bachelorstudiengang Umweltnaturwissenschaften entwickelte Versuchen die wechelseitigen Beziehungen zwischen physikalischer Prozesse zu chemischen und biologischen Phänomenen erleuchten
InhaltDie Studierenden wählen sich 8 der 20 angebotenen Versuchen aus, die sie durchführen möchten. Nach der Durchführung dieser Versuche analysieren die Studierenden ihre Messungen, schätzen den Fehler ihrer Resultate ab und vergleichen diese mit der physikalischen Theorie. Zusätzlich hält jeder Studierende zu einem der durchgeführten Versuche einen kurzen Seminarvortrag.
SkriptVersuchsanleitungen werden auf den Moodle Kursseiten zur Verfügung gestellt.
701-0035-00LIntegriertes Praktikum Beobachtungsnetze Information O1.5 KP4PJ. Henneberger, T. Tormann
KurzbeschreibungBeobachtungsnetze - die Kombinationen einzelner Messgeräte - stehen bei der Erfassung von quantitativen Umweltdaten an erster Stelle. Die Strukturen und Eigenheiten realer Beobachtungsnetze werden vermittelt. Bei der Bearbeitung praktischer Probleme lernt man in einzelnen Versuchen verschiedene Typen von Beobachtungsnetzen kennen; Fragen zur Datenqualität und Datenverfügbarkeit werden diskutiert.
LernzielVertraut werden mit bestehenden Messnetzen. Einblick in die Mess- und Interpretationsproblematik von multi-dimensionalen Feldern von atmosphärenphysikalischen, atmosphärenchemischen und geophysikalischen Parametern.
InhaltBeobachtungsnetze für atmosphärenphysikalische, atmosphärenchemische, geophysikalische, hydrologische und klimatologische Messgrössen auf verschiedenen Skalen (synoptisch: 1000 km; mesoskalig: 100 km und mikroskalig: 100 m). Kombination von Bodenmesswerten und Fernerkundungsgrössen (Satelliten, Radar). Lösen von Interpolationsproblemen in multi-dimensionalen Feldern von Messgrössen. Beurteilung der Repräsentativität von Stützwerten, d.h. der einzelnen Messwerte in einem Beobachtungsnetz.
SkriptDie Praktikumsanleitung wird jedes Jahr neu herausgegeben. Sie enthält neben den aktuellen Fragestellungen für die einzelnen Versuche theoretische Grundlagen zu Beobachtungsnetzen und Hinweise für die Abfassung wissenschaftlicher Berichte. Die Anleitung kann als pdf von der Praktikumswebseite heruntergeladen werden.
LiteraturSiehe Literaturverzeichnis in der Praktikumsanleitung.
  •  Seite  1  von  1