The spring semester 2021 will certainly take place online until Easter. Exceptions: Courses that can only be carried out with on-site presence. Please note the information provided by the lecturers.

Search result: Catalogue data in Autumn Semester 2016

Environmental Sciences Bachelor Information
Bachelor Studies (Programme Regulations 2011)
Basic Courses II
Examination Blocks
Examination Block 2
NumberTitleTypeECTSHoursLecturers
701-0023-00LAtmosphere Information O3 credits2VH. Wernli, E. M. Fischer, T. Peter
AbstractBasic principles of the atmosphere, physical structure and chemical composition, trace gases, atmospheric cycles, circulation, stability, radiation, condensation, clouds, oxidation capacity and ozone layer.
ObjectiveUnderstanding of basic physical and chemical processes in the atmosphere. Understanding of mechanisms of and interactions between: weather - climate, atmosphere - ocean - continents, troposhere - stratosphere. Understanding of environmentally relevant structures and processes on vastly differing scales. Basis for the modelling of complex interrelations in the atmospehre.
ContentBasic principles of the atmosphere, physical structure and chemical composition, trace gases, atmospheric cycles, circulation, stability, radiation, condensation, clouds, oxidation capacity and ozone layer.
Lecture notesWritten information will be supplied.
Literature- John H. Seinfeld and Spyros N. Pandis, Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics: From Air Pollution to Climate Change, Wiley, New York, 1998.
- Gösta H. Liljequist, Allgemeine Meteorologie, Vieweg, Braunschweig, 1974.
701-0071-00LMathematics III: Systems AnalysisO4 credits2V + 1UN. Gruber, D. Byrne
AbstractThe objective of the systems analysis course is to deepen and illustrate the mathematical concepts on the basis of a series of very concrete examples. Topics covered include: linear box models with one or several variables, non-linear box models with one or several variables, time-discrete models, and continuous models in time and space.
ObjectiveLearning and applying of concepts (models) and quantitative methods to address concrete problems of environmental relevance. Understanding and applying the systems-analytic approach, i.e., Recognizing the core of the problem - simplification - quantitative approach - prediction.
Contenthttp://www.up.ethz.ch/education/systems-analysis.html
Lecture notesOverhead slides will be made available through Ilias.
LiteratureImboden, D.S. and S. Pfenninger (2013) Introduction to Systems Analysis: Mathematically Modeling Natural Systems. Berlin Heidelberg: Springer Verlag.

http://link.springer.com/book/10.1007%2F978-3-642-30639-6
701-0401-00LHydrosphereO3 credits2VR. Kipfer, C. Roques
AbstractQualitative and quantitative understanding of the physical processes that control the terrestrial water cycle. Energy and mass exchange, mixing and transport processes are described and the coupling of the hydrosphere with the atmosphere and the solid Earth are discussed.
ObjectiveQualitative and quantitative understanding of the physical processes that control the terrestrial water cycle. Energy and mass exchange, mixing and transport processes are described and the coupling of the hydrosphere with the atmosphere and the solid Earth are discussed.
ContentTopics of the course.
Physical properties of water (i.e. density and equation of state)
- global water resources
Exchange at boundaries
- energy (thermal & kinetic), gas exchange
Mixing and transport processes in open waters
- vertical stratification, large scale transport
- turbulence and mixing
- mixing and exchange processes in rivers
Groundwater and its dynamics
- ground water as part of the terrestrial water cycle
- ground water hydraulics, Darcy's law
- aquifers and their properties
- hydrochemistry and tracer
- ground water use
Case studies
- 1. Water as resource, 2. Water and climate
Lecture notesIn addition to the suggested literature handouts are distributed.
LiteratureSuggested literature.
a) Park, Ch., 2001, The Environment, Routledge, 2001
b) Price, M., 1996. Introducing groundwater. Chapman & Hall, London u.a.
Prerequisites / NoticeThe case studies and the analysis of the questions and problems are integral part of the course.
701-0501-00LPedosphere Information O3 credits2VR. Kretzschmar
AbstractIntroduction to the formation and properties of soils as a function of parent rock, landscape position, climate, and soil organisms. Complex relationships between soil forming processes, physical and chemical soil properties, soil biota, and ecological soil properties are explained and illustrated by numerous examples.
ObjectiveIntroduction to the formation and properties of soils as a function of parent rock, landscape position, climate, and soil organisms. Complex relationships between soil forming processes, physical and chemical soil properties, soil biota, and ecological soil properties are explained and illustrated by numerous examples.
ContentDefinition of the pedosphere, soil functions, rocks as parent materials, minerals and weathering, soil organisms, soil organic matter, physical soil properties and functions, chemical soil properties and functions, soil formation, principles of soil classification, global soil regions, soil fertility, land use and soil degradation.
Lecture notesLecture notes can be purchased during the first lecture (15.- SFr)
Literature- Scheffer/Schachtschabel - Soil Science, Springer, Heidelberg, 2016.

- Brady N.C. and Weil, R.R. The Nature and Properties of Soils. 14th ed. Prentice Hall, 2007.
Prerequisites / NoticePrerequisites: Basic knowledge in chemistry, biology and geology.
  •  Page  1  of  1

Suchergebnis: Katalogdaten im Herbstsemester 2016

Umweltnaturwissenschaften Bachelor Information
Bachelor-Studium (Studienreglement 2011)
Grundlagenfächer II
Prüfungsblöcke
Prüfungsblock 2
NummerTitelTypECTSUmfangDozierende
701-0023-00LAtmosphäre Information O3 KP2VH. Wernli, E. M. Fischer, T. Peter
KurzbeschreibungGrundlagen der Atmosphäre, physikalischer Aufbau und chemische Zusammensetzung, Spurengase, Kreisläufe in der Atmosphäre, Zirkulation, Stabilität, Strahlung, Kondensation, Wolken, Oxidationspotential und Ozonschicht.
LernzielVerständnis grundlegender physikalischer und chemischer Prozesse in der Atmosphäre. Kenntnis über die Mechanismen und Zusammenhänge von: Wetter - Klima, Atmosphäre - Ozeane - Kontinente, Troposphäre - Stratosphäre. Verständnis von umweltrelevanten Strukturen und Vorgängen in sehr unterschiedlichem Massstab. Grundlagen für eine modellmässige Darstellung komplexer Zusammenhänge in der Atmosphäre.
InhaltGrundlagen der Atmosphäre, physikalischer Aufbau und chemische Zusammensetzung, Spurengase, Kreisläufe in der Atmosphäre, Zirkulation, Stabilität, Strahlung, Kondensation, Wolken, Oxidationspotential und Ozonschicht.
SkriptSchriftliche Unterlagen werden abgegeben.
Literatur- John H. Seinfeld and Spyros N. Pandis, Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics: From Air Pollution to Climate Change, Wiley, New York, 1998.
- Gösta H. Liljequist, Allgemeine Meteorologie, Vieweg, Braunschweig, 1974.
701-0071-00LMathematik III: SystemanalyseO4 KP2V + 1UN. Gruber, D. Byrne
KurzbeschreibungIn der Systemanalyse geht es darum, durch ausgesuchte praxisnahe Beispiele die in der Mathematik bereit gestellte Theorie zu vertiefen und zu veranschaulichen. Konkret behandelt werden: Dynamische lineare Boxmodelle mit einer und mehreren Variablen; Nichtlineare Boxmodelle mit einer oder mehreren Variablen; zeitdiskrete Modelle, und kontinuierliche Modelle in Raum und Zeit.
LernzielErlernen und Anwendung von Konzepten (Modellen) und quantitativen Methoden zur Lösung von umweltrelevanten Problemen. Verstehen und Umsetzen des systemanalytischen Ansatzes, d.h. Erkennen des Kernes eines Problemes - Abstraktion - Quantitatives Erfassen - Vorhersage.
Inhalthttp://www.up.ethz.ch/education/systems-analysis.html
SkriptFolien werden über Ilias zur Verfügung gestellt.
LiteraturImboden, D. and S. Koch (2003) Systemanalyse - Einführung in die mathematische Modellierung natürlicher Systeme. Berlin Heidelberg: Springer Verlag.
701-0401-00LHydrosphäreO3 KP2VR. Kipfer, C. Roques
KurzbeschreibungQualitatives und quantitatives Verständnis für die Prozesse, welche den Wasserkreislauf der Erde, die Energieflüsse sowie die Mischungs- und Transportprozesse in aquatischen Systemen bestimmen. Inhaltliche und methodische Zusammenhänge zwischen Hydrospäre, Atmosphäre und Pedosphäre werden aufgezeigt.
LernzielQualitatives und quantitatives Verständnis für die Prozesse, welche den Wasserkreislauf der Erde, die Energieflüsse sowie die Mischungs- und Transportprozesse in aquatischen Systemen bestimmen. Inhaltliche und methodische Zusammenhänge zwischen Hydrospäre, Atmosphäre und Pedosphäre werden aufgezeigt.
InhaltThemen der Vorlesung.
Physikalische Eigenschaften des Wassers (Dichte und Zustandsgleichung)
- Globale Wasserresourcen
Prozesse an Grenzflächen
- Energieflüsse (thermisch, kinetisch)
- Verdunstung, Gasaustausch
Stehende Oberflächengewässer (Meer, Seen)
- Wärmebilanz
- vertikale Schichtung und globale thermohaline Zirkulation / grossskalige Strömungen
- Turbulenz und Mischung
- Mischprozesse in Fliessgewässern
Grundwasser und seine Dynamik.
- Grundwasser als Teil des hydrologischen Kreislaufs
- Einzugsgebiete, Wasserbilanzen
- Grundwasserströmung: Darcy-Gesetz, Fliessnetze
- hydraulische Eigenschaften
Grundwasserleiter und ihre Eigenschaften
- Hydrogeochemie: Grundwasser und seine Inhaltsstoffe, Tracer
- Wassernutzung: Trinkwasser, Energiegewinnung, Bewässerung
Fallbeispiele: 1. Wasser als Ressource, 2. Wasser und Klima
SkriptErgänzend zu den empfohlenen Lehrmitteln werden Unterlagen abgegeben.
LiteraturDie Vorlesung stützt sich auf folgende Lehrmittel:
a) Park, Ch., 2001, The Environment, Routledge, 2001
b) Price, M., 1996. Introducing groundwater. Chapman & Hall, London u.a.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesDie Fallbeispiele und die selbständig zu bearbeitende Uebungen sind ein obligatorischer Bestandteil der Lehrveranstaltung.
701-0501-00LPedosphäre Information O3 KP2VR. Kretzschmar
KurzbeschreibungEinführung in die Entstehung und Eigenschaften von Böden in Abhängigkeit von Ausgangsgestein, Relief, Klima und Bodenorganismen. Komplexe Zusammenhänge zwischen den bodenbildenden Prozessen, den physikalischen und chemischen Bodeneigenschaften, Bodenorganismen, und ökologischen Standortseigenschaften von Böden werden erläutert und an Hand von zahlreichen Beispielen illustriert.
LernzielEinführung in die Entstehung und Eigenschaften von Böden in Abhängigkeit von Ausgangsgestein, Relief, Klima und Bodenorganismen. Komplexe Zusammenhänge zwischen den bodenbildenden Prozessen, den physikalischen und chemischen Bodeneigenschaften, Bodenorganismen, und ökologischen Standortseigenschaften von Böden werden erläutert und an Hand von zahlreichen Beispielen illustriert.
InhaltDefinition der Pedosphäre, Bodenfunktionen, Gesteine, Minerale und Verwitterung, Bodenorganismen, organische Bodensubstanz, physikalische Eigenschaften und Funktionen, chemische Eigenschaften und Funktionen, Bodenbildung und Bodenverbreitung, Grundzüge der Bodenklassifikation, Bodenzonen der Erde, Bodenfruchtbarkeit, Bodennutzung und Bodengefährdung.
SkriptSkript wird während der ersten Vorlesung verkauft (15.- SFr).
Literatur- Scheffer F. Scheffer/Schachtschabel - Lehrbuch der Bodenkunde, 16. Auflage, Spektrum Akademischer Verlag, Heidelberg, 2010.

- Brady N.C. and Weil, R.R. The Nature and Properties of Soils. 14th ed. Prentice Hall, 2007.
Voraussetzungen / BesonderesVoraussetzungen: Grundlagen in Chemie, Biologie und Geologie.
  •  Seite  1  von  1